Virginia State Police
Skip to Content
Contact Us    Quick Search Topics
Virginia State Police home page banner; 85-Year Anniversary logo

About VSP   Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

AMBER Alert | Senior Alert

separating line

Criminal Record Check

separating line

Employment  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Firearms / Concealed
Handguns

separating line

Forms & Publications

separating line

Freedom of Information Act

separating line

Law Enforcement
Services
  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Missing Children | Persons

separating line

Safety Issues  Arrow graphic indicates this link includes subcategories.

separating line

Sex Offender Registry |

Halloween Safety

separating line

Vehicle Safety Inspection

separating line

Wanted Persons

separating line

VSP Org Chart

View Virginia State Police expenditures

 Public Notice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Trooper Recruitment/ALEP

ALEP FAQ

I am a current officer in another state. Am I eligible?

No. These positions are available only to applicants currently employed by a Virginia law enforcement agency.


How much experience do I need?

ALEP applicants must have a minimum of 3 years of experience as a DCJS certified law enforcement officer conducting criminal investigations and patrol duties, which encompass crash investigation and traffic enforcement. Five years of continuous law enforcement experience preferred.


How much is starting pay?

Qualified ALEP candidates accepted to the Virginia Department of State Police will be compensated at a salary of $48,719; however, applicants being accepted into positions covered under the Northern Virginia pay scale will be compensated at a salary of $60,587.00.


What is the State Police residency policy?

All sworn employees shall be required to live within the geographic boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The sworn employee’s residence shall be located within the assigned area or in a city or incorporated town, within this state, which borders the assigned area. In addition to being able to live anywhere within one’s area of assignment, a sworn employee may live within 15 statute air miles from any border of his/her duty post boundary.

The only exclusion to these requirements are those sworn assigned to the Fairfax Division in Northern Virginia and those sworn assigned to the Chesapeake Division’s Area 31, which encompasses the Eastern Shore of Virginia.


What certifications do I need?

ALEP applicants must have a current Virginia Law Enforcement certification from the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) and currently be a VCIN level C Operator.

Certified speed measurement (RADAR/LIDAR) operator status, CPR/AED for Professional Rescuers with First Aid conducted by American Red Cross and Intoxilyzer operator certified are preferred qualifications.


Are there any educational requirements?

ALEP applicants must have a High School Diploma or GED. An associate degree or higher is preferred.


How long is training?

ALEP applicants must go through an 8-week training course.


What is the Selection Process?

The Virginia State Police is committed to recruiting and selecting the most qualified applicants while maintaining a work force that reflects the community.

The selection process may take no longer than 7 months, with the Accelerated Lateral Entry Program to begin on April 25, 2018. Applicants go through three progressive phases and may be eliminated any time during the process. The phases consist of the following:

Phase I:

Phase II:

Background Investigation.

Phase III:

Employment questions can be directed to Ms. Joan L. Jacobs in the Personnel Division at joan.jacobs@vsp.virginia.gov.

Recruitment questions can be directed to First Sergeant Marilyne Wilson in the Personnel Division at (804) 674-6735.


Where will be I assigned?

There are no restrictions on assignment to former home county. You must provide up to 3 jurisdictions where you are willing to accept assignment, or indicate your willingness to be assigned anywhere in Virginia.


What about tattoos and piercings?

ALEP applicants must be in compliance with the Department tattoo and body modification policies.


What are the height/weight requirements?

At the time of testing, ALEP applicants’ weight must be in compliance with the Department’s height/weight chart.


Would I be eligible for promotion, career progression opportunities and specialty positions?

Yes. There are several options:


Is there a background investigation?

Yes. ALEP applicants will undergo an extensive background investigation, including a polygraph examination.


Are there any automatic disqualifiers?

Yes. The following will automatically disqualify applicants:



Apply Today!