
VIRGINIA STATE POLICE 

TRAINING ANNOUNCEMENT 

TO REGISTER, PLEASE COMPLETE THE TRAINING REGISTRATION FORM ATTACHED 

TITLE: ASP Instructor Certification School (Baton, Handcuff, and Performance Lights) 

DATE/TIME:   March 15 -17, 2016 / 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

LOCATION: Virginia State Police                                                                                              
Training Academy                                                                      
7700 Midlothian Turnpike                                                      
North Chesterfield, Virginia 23235 

DESCRIPTION:  The purpose of this school is to provide the participant with training that develops 
each participant’s ability to gain the skills necessary to become a certified 
instructor in ASP tactical baton and handcuffing.    

PRE-REQUISITES: Must be a certified law enforcement officer, and it is preferred the applicant 
be a defensive tactics instructor.  Participants should be in good health and 
able to participate in strenuous exercises.  A medical examination is 
recommended.  Participants exhibiting pre-existing medical problems that 
instructional staff believe could likely lead to injury will be returned to their agency 
without training.   

 Participants will be required to perform various tasks during the training.  In 
addition, they will be subjected to mental stress, physical stress, and physical 
confrontations with instructors and other participants.  See attached ASP 
Training Briefing Bulletin.   

PRIORITY: The above deadline for submission of application will be strictly observed as 
class size is limited.  Participants will be selected according to the order in which 
responses are received.  Each participant must attend all three days of the 
ASP Instructor Certification as the program is integrated. 

IN-SERVICE CREDIT: 16 hours of career development in-service credit will be awarded upon 
successful completion. 

TUITION: A completed ASP Application is required with a $50.00 training deposit (Check or 
Credit Card) payable to ASP, INC., from each participant at the time of 
registration.  The training deposit is retained be the sponsoring agency.  The 
checks are not cashed and credit cards are not charged unless the 
applicant is a No Show at the class.  At the conclusion of the ASP Instructor 
Certification (AIC) Training, the training deposit will be refunded to each class 
participant.  Individuals who register and do not attend the training will forfeit their 
training deposit.  See attached ASP Application.    

MEALS: Not provided by the Virginia State Police Academy and is the participant's 
responsibility. 

DEADLINE:                  
Applications Due             
February 15, 2016 



LODGING: Not provided by the Virginia State Police Academy.    

ATTIRE: Academy rules prohibit wearing jeans, T-shirts, and shirts without collars, shorts, 
sweatshirts, sweatpants, tennis shoes, and flip flops.   

PARKING: Attendees should park in designated areas and not in front of the Academy or 
reserved parking areas. 

DEADLINE:  February 15, 2016, at close of business, to submit application. 

ACCEPTANCE: Participants will be notified whether they have been selected to attend this 
training based on first come basis (spaces available) upon receipt of 
completed application and training deposit.  

CONTACT: Questions pertaining to training should be directed to Greg P. Lewis at (804)674-
2280 or email at greg.lewis@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Questions regarding lodging and meals should be directed to Ms. Shelia E. White 

at (804)674-2649 or email at shelia.white@vsp.virginia.gov.  
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