Fingerprinting for Non-Criminal Purposes
Special Announcement During COVID-19 Pandemic
It is the policy of the Commonwealth to protect the health of state employees and the public and to provide continuity of services. Due to the current COVID-19 situation, the Virginia Department of State Police must reduce fingerprinting services at State Police Headquarters, Division Headquarters, and Area Offices on March 25, 2020.
Noncriminal justice entities that have existing accounts with the Department for criminal history records checks are being notified of the option to create separate accounts with Fieldprint, the Commonwealth’s fingerprint collection and transmission vendor, if they do not have another available means for obtaining fingerprints. These entities include:
State and local government agencies conducting background checks on prospective employees and contractors or for licensing purposes.
EMTS and other first responders (except law enforcement).
Private schools, volunteer agencies, non-profits, and others providing care to children, the elderly, and the disabled.
Fieldprint, an approved electronic provider on state contract, has existing contracts with several state agencies and local government entities to provide fingerprinting services. Fieldprint’s website is https://www.fieldprintvirginia.com. An account may be set up with Fieldprint by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or calling (888) 472-8918.
There are some fingerprint services that the Department cannot provide at this time. These are fingerprints that are not mandated by the Code of Virginia, and citizens are typically requesting them for personal reasons. In these cases, we recommend that the citizen contact the requesting agency for their guidance. These situations include fingerprints for:
FBI background checks
Criminal records checks by other states or the federal government
Concealed weapons permits
Individuals on SP-167 (such as for many private employers)
The Department of State Police will continue to obtain some fingerprints at State Police Headquarters, Division Headquarters, and Area Offices. The fingerprints that fit into these categories represent the provision of core services or cases of extreme urgency. These include fingerprints for:
Unique Personal Identification Number (UPIN) requests
Civil rights restorations
Appointments (i.e., Judge, Magistrates, or other governmental officials)
Those necessary to support essential services in response to the COVID-19 emergency
For questions or additional assistance, please email email@example.com or call (804)674-2131.
Where are fingerprints taken?
State Police Headquarters, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North Chesterfield, VA 23235. Phone: (804) 674-2000.
State Police Division and area offices. Call the Division or area office to ensure the correct time and location.
When are fingerprints taken?
Hours for State Police Headquarters are 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.
State Police locations, call to ensure the correct time and location.
What to bring:
Two valid forms of identification are required as listed in the
. VIRGINIA STATE POLICE IDENTIFICATION VALIDATION GUIDE FOR FINGERPRINTING One
must be selected from the approved Photo Identification listing. The second form of identification can come from either the Photo Identification or Secondary Identification listing.
Only original documentation are accepted; no photocopies are allowed.
How much do fingerprints cost?
$10 for the first card.
$5 for each additional card.
only at Administrative Headquarters located at 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, N. Chesterfield NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED
Privacy Act Statement
Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI and the
Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) of the Virginia State Police. You have the right to expect that
officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will use it only for authorized purposes and
will not retain or disseminate it in violation of state or federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule,
procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.
Read the full Privacy Act >>
NOTE: Virginia State Police employees cannot give legal advice, nor interpret the law for members of the public. Information within this website is provided for general guidance purposes only and may not apply to all factual situations. Persons needing legal advice may contact Virginia Lawyer Referral Service at (800) 552-7977 to be referred to a private attorney for a 30-minute consultation for a pre-paid fee of $35.00.