Firearms Shows in Virginia
VA Code §54.1-4201.1, states that:
- No promoter of a firearms show shall hold such show without giving notice at least 30 days prior to the show to the State Police and the sheriff or chief of police of the locality in which the firearms show will be held. Notice will be made by completing a Firearms Show Notification Form (SP-190). The completed SP-190 Form is to be forwarded to the mailing address or email provided at the bottom of the form.
- A Firearms Show Notification Form (SP-190) shall be required for each firearms show. Not later than 5 days after the firearms show conclusion, the promoter must submit a completed list of all vendors/exhibitors who sold/exhibited firearms at the show to Virginia State Police and the local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction the show was held. The list can be submitted to the law enforcement agencies by U.S. Postal Service, email, fax or hand delivered.
For State Police, the mailing address and email are the same as provided at the bottom of the Firearms Show Notification Form (SP-190). Fax is (804) 674-2791. Physical Address is 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North Chesterfield, VA 23235.
If unable to download the Firearms Show Notification Form (SP-190) from the links provided above or the Virginia State Police Forms page, then please contact the Virginia Firearms Transaction Center to request the form:
Firearms Transaction Center
P. O. Box 85608
Richmond, Virginia 23285-5608
Phone: (804) 674-2292
VA Code §54.1-4201.2 requires promoters of firearms shows to
- Prominently display a notice at each show that notifies all event-goers that the Virginia State Police is available on-site to perform background checks in private-sale transactions.
- Provide State Police with adequate space to conduct background checks for the transfer of firearms by both private sellers and federally-licensed firearms dealers.