Administrative

Complaint Form (SP-163 - Revised 1-31-21)

Learn more about the complaint process >>>.

Comment/Compliment an Employee Email icon

Comments on VSP website Email icon

Criminal History / Background Check / Sex Offender Name Search

To determine which form to use, please view the information on the Criminal Record Check web page.

National Criminal Background Check For Employees or Volunteers (SP-325)
This form is used for employees or volunteers that provide care to children, the elderly or disabled.
A completed fingerprint card must accompany each SP-325. (Previously SP-24 - revised in 2019 to SP-325)

In order to submit this form, an account must be established with Virginia State Police. Contact VSP at (804) 674-4683 or (804) 674-4685 for information regarding the process.

Virginia Criminal History Request Form SP-167/SP-230
This form must be printed and mailed to the Virginia State Police.

If you are unable to print this form, contact the Help Desk at (804) 674-2131.
NOTE: Please ensure your browser is up to date before calling the Help Desk.

Request for Fingerprints (SP-126) -- Non-Criminal Justice Purposes
NOTE: VA Code § 19.2-392 authorizes a fee, not to exceed $10.00 for the first set and $5.00 for additional sets, be collected for the taking of fingerprints when voluntarily requested by any person for purposes other than criminal arrests. Payment options for VSP services will vary by location, please visit our payments page for a complete listing.

Employment

Volunteer Application:

Fingerprinting Best Practices

Fingerprinting Best Practices 

Firearms

Concealed Handgun Permit Application (SP-248 - Revised 7-1-2021) 

(Virginia residents: complete and submit to the Circuit Court in the jurisdiction where you reside.  Nonresidents:  Instructions are available at Nonresident Concealed Handguns.)

Concealed Handgun Permit Change of address form and request for replacement permit (SP-248A - Revised 7-1-2017) 

(Virginia residents: complete and submit to the Circuit Court in the jurisdiction where you reside.  Nonresidents:  Instructions are available at Nonresident Concealed Handguns.)

Firearms Dealer Registration (SP-69) 
(Submit by mail or fax (804) 674-2791. A SP-69B is required.)

Firearms Seller Exemption Request (SP-69B)

Firearms Show Notification Form (SP-190) 
(Submit three copies; all original ink, or one original and two photocopies).

Machine Gun Registration Application (SP-115) 
(Submit one completed application per machine gun; signature must be original ink and application must be notarized).

Multiple Handgun Purchase Application (SP-207 - Revised 7-1-2020) 

Query of Lost or Stolen Firearms (SP-315) 
(This form is available to all firearm dealers registered with the State Police Firearms Transaction Center as of January 1, 2015, and is authorized by VA Code § 18.2-308.2:4.)

Voluntary Do Not Sell Firearms List Application (SP-336 - Revised 1-15-21) 
(This form is for anyone that wishes to register for, or request removal from, the Virginia Voluntary Do Not Sell Firearms list.)

Firearm Forms - Law Enforcement

NICS Indices Submission (SP-329) 
(This form is for all law enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia for entry of a firearm disqualification record in the NICS Indices.)

Disposition of Firearms  (SP-326) 
(This form is for all law enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia for release or return of a confiscated firearm)

Incident Based Reporting (IBR)

Please contact VSP IBR office at ibradmin@vsp.virginia.gov for Use of Force (formerly Officer-Involved Shooting) reporting.

Missing

Virginia Missing Children Information Clearinghouse Report (SP-183)
(see SP-67 for Missing PERSON report.)

Virginia Missing Person Information Clearinghouse Report (SP-67)
(see SP-183 for Missing CHILD report.)

Scrap Metal Transaction Form

Virginia Scrap Metal Transaction Form (SP-313/SP-313A)
Please refer to VA Code §§ 59.1-12159.1-136.359.1-136.5 for information about use of this form.