
 

 

 

 

 

Selected Acts of the 2020 
 Virginia General Assembly 

Relating to the  
Virginia Crimes Against Minors and Sex Offender Registry 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

Compiled by 

The Virginia Department of State Police 
 

 

 



ii  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
This volume of Selected Acts is in addition to the Selected Acts 2020 criminal and traffic 
laws volume and contains legislation passed by the 2019 and 2020 Session of the Virginia 
General Assembly that is relevant to the administration and enforcement of the Virginia 
Crimes Against Minors and Sex Offender Registry, Chapter 900 of Title 9.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  Additionally, summaries of less relevant, but important legislation are found in the 
back of this volume.  These summaries will not be covered in class, but are there for your 
personal study. 
 
 
 
EXPLANATIONS WHICH MAY BE HELPFUL IN STUDYING THESE ACTS: 
 
1. Underlined words indicate new language. 
 
2. Lined through words indicate language that has been removed. 
 
3. Emergency Acts - All Acts with an emergency clause were effective when signed 

by the Governor.  Generally the emergency clause appears as the last sentence of 
the Act. 

 
4. Effective date - All Acts, other than those containing an emergency clause or those 

specifying a delayed effective date, become law as of the first moment of July 1, 
2020.  Different portions of a bill may carry different effective dates. 

 
5. A brief summary outlining changes appears at the beginning of the bill.  You are 

cautioned that the summary is not intended to be complete; it is merely an overview 
of the bill.  Before taking enforcement action, carefully read the entire bill.  The bill 
summaries were provided by the Division of Legislative Services. 

 
6. The table of contents contains a bill description which is not necessarily the same 

as the short title. 
 
7. Questions regarding information contained in this book may be directed to First 

Sergeant Thomas Lambert (804) 674-2212. 
 
8. Legislation information may be found at:   http://legis.state.va.us/  and the Virginia 

State Police website may be found at:  http://www.vsp.state.va.us/  
 

http://legis.state.va.us/
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
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VIRGINIA SEX OFFENDER AND CRIMES AGAINST MINORS REGISTRY 
 

Offense Coverage effective 1 July 2020 
  
9.1-902 - Offenses requiring registration: 

 
“Murder” means 

 18.2-31, Murder where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the 
victim is at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the 
murder is related to an offense listed in this section. 

   18.2-32, Murder where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the 
victim is at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the 
murder is related to an offense listed in this section. 

   Former § 18.1-21 where the victim is (a) under 15 years of age or (b) at least 
15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder is related 
to an offense listed in this section. 

_______________________________________________________________ 
 
"Tier I Offense" means any violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate: 
  

 18.2-63, Carnal knowledge – victim age 13 or 14 – unless perpetrator is 
more than five years older than victim (use actual dates of birth) See 
Tier III below. 

 Former 18.2-67.2:1, Marital sexual assault (Repealed in 2005) 

 Former § 18.1-88, Burglary with the intent to commit rape 

 18.2-90, Burglary with the intent to commit rape 

 Felony violations of § 18.2-346, Solicitation of prostitution from a minor 

 Subdivision (4) of § 18.2-355, Taking, detaining a minor for prostitution 

 Subsection C of 18.2-357.1, Commercial sex trafficking victim <18 

 18.2-370.6, Penetration of mouth of child under 13 by tongue with lascivious 
intent 

 18.2-374.1:1 (B) Possess/Reproduce/Distribute – Child Pornography 

 Former 18.2-374.1:1 (D), Possession of child pornography, second 
offense.(as it was in effect between July 1, 1994 and June 30, 2007) 

 18.2-374.3 (B) Use of communication system to solicit a person under 15 
years or who the defendant believes is less than 15 years, with 
lascivious intent, to commit specified acts. 

 Former 18.2-374.3 (B)(iv), Use of communication system to solicit a person 
under 15 years or who the defendant believes is less than 15 years, 
with lascivious intent, to commit specified acts (as it was in effect on 
Jun 30, 2007) 
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 a third or subsequent conviction of 18.2-67.4, Sexual battery 

 a third or subsequent conviction of 18.2-67.4:2, Sexual abuse victim 13 or 14 
years of age 

 a third or subsequent conviction of 18.2-67.5(C), Attempted Sexual Battery 

 a third or subsequent conviction of 18.2-386.1, Unlawful filming, videotaping 
or photographing of another 

 
OR 
 
If the offense is committed on or after July1, 2006 
 

 18.2-67.5:1, conviction of third misdemeanor offense of 18.2-67.4 (sexual 
battery), 18.2-67.5 (C) (attempted sexual battery), 18.2-371 
(contributing to delinquency of a minor involving consensual 
intercourse, 18.2-387 (indecent exposure), or 18.2-130 (peeping). Must 
be convicted under 18.2-67.5:1 to qualify. 

 18.2-91, burglary with the intent to commit any felony offense listed in this 
section 

 18.2-374.1:1 (A), possession of child pornography 

OR 

 
2. Where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 
defined in § 18.2-67.10: 

 18.2-47(A), Abduction 

 18.2-48 (i) Abduction with intent to Extort  

 18.2-67.4, Sexual battery 

 18.2-67.5 (C), Attempted sexual battery 

 18.2-361, Crimes against nature (sodomy) 

 18.2-366, Incest 

 Felony violation of former 18.1-191, Incest 
 

OR 
 
If the offense is committed on or after July 1, 2016 

 18.2-51.2, Aggravated malicious wounding where the perpetrator is 18 years of 
age or older and the victim is under the age of 13 

 18.2-356, Receiving money for procuring person <18 (punishable as a Class 3 felony) 

 18.2-357, Receiving money from earnings of male or female prostitute <18 
(punishable as a Class 3 felony) 

 
 OR 
 
If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2019, any felony violation of  

 18.2-348 (aiding prostitution by minors) or  

 18.2-349 (using a vehicle to promote prostitution by minors). 
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OR 
 
If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2020, a third or subsequent 
violation of: 

 18.2-386.2. Unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another 
 

OR 
 

Any criminal homicide in conjunction with a violation of clause (i) of 18.2-371 
(Contributing to the delinquency) or 18.2-371.1 (abuse and neglect of children) when 
the offenses arise out of the same incident 

Article 1. Homicide 
o § 18.2-30 Murder and manslaughter declared felonies  
o § 18.2-31 Capital murder defined; punishment  
o § 18.2-32 First and second degree murder defined; punishment  
o § 18.2-32.1 Murder of a pregnant woman; penalty  
o § 18.2-32.2 Killing a fetus; penalty  
o § 18.2-33 Felony homicide defined; punishment  
o § 18.2-35 How voluntary manslaughter punished  
o § 18.2-36 How involuntary manslaughter punished  
o § 18.2-36.1 Certain conduct punishable as involuntary manslaughter  
o § 18.2-36.2 Involuntary manslaughter; operating a watercraft while 

under the influence; penalties  

 

OR 

Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minor registry is 
required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted which 
would not otherwise require registration under this Act. 
 

 
“Tier II offense” means any violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate: 
 

 18.2-64.1, Carnal knowledge – minor victim 15 and older, Supervisory 
 relationship 

 18.2-374.1:1 (C), Child pornography, reproduction, command/persuade/entice 
another to send as part of membership 

 18.2-374.3 (C), (D), or (E), Use of communication system to solicit a person 
under 15 years or who the defendant believes is less than 15 years, with 
lascivious intent, to commit specified acts. 

 

 
"Tier III offense" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate:  
 

 18.2-48(ii) or (iii), Abduction with (ii) intent to defile, (iii) of Vic under 16 for 
prostitution 

 Former 18.1-38 Abduction with the intent to defile or, for the purpose of 
concubinage or prostitution 

 Felony violations of subdivision (2) or (3) of former 18.1-39 that involves assisting 
or aiding in such an abduction 

 18.2-61, Rape 

 Former 18.1-44, Rape when such act is accomplished against the complaining 
witness's will, by force, or through the use of the complaining witness's 
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mental incapacity or physical helplessness, or if the victim is under 13 
years of age 

 18.2-63, Carnal knowledge – victim age 13 or 14 where perpetrator is more than 
five years older than victim (use actual dates of birth). 

 18.2-67.1, Forcible sodomy 

  18.2-67.2, Object sexual penetration 

 18.2-67.3, Aggravated sexual battery 

  Former 18.1-215 when the complaining witness is under 13 years of age 

 18.2-67.4, Sexual battery where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and 
the victim is under the age of six 

 18.2-67.5 (A) or (B), Attempted rape and aggravated sexual battery 

 18.2-370, Indecent liberties with minor 

 Subdivision (1), (2), or (4) of former 18.1-213 

 Former 18.1-214 

 18.2-370.1, Indecent liberties with minor, Supervisory relationship 

 18.2-374.1, Production, financing etc. of Child Pornography 
 
 
OR 
 

 any person convicted under Chapter117 (18 U.S. Code §§ 2421 – 2428) 

 any person convicted for Sex trafficking (18 U.S. Code § 1591) 

OR 

 
A second or subsequent conviction, where the individual was a liberty between such 
convictions/adjudications, of the following 
 

 18.2-63, Carnal knowledge – victim age 13 or 14 

 18.2-64.1, Carnal knowledge – minor victim 15 years or older, Supervisory 
relationship 

 Former 18.2-67.2:1, Marital sexual assault (Repealed in 2005) 

 18.2-90 Burglary with the intent to commit rape 
 
OR 

 
 A second or subsequent conviction, where the individual was at liberty between such 
convictions, and where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally 
incapacitated as defined in § 18.2-67.10, a violation or attempted violation of:  

 18.2-47(A), Abduction 

 18.2-67.4, Sexual Battery 

 18.2-67.5(C), Attempted sexual battery 

 18.2-48 (i) Abduction with intent to extort  

 18.2-361, Crimes against nature (sodomy) 

 18.2-366, Incest 

 18.2-374.1:1 (C), Possession of Child Pornography subsequent offense 
 
OR 
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If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, and if the person has been 
convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided that 
person had been at liberty between such convictions or adjudications: 

 18.2-91, burglary with the intent to commit any felony offense listed in this 
section.   

 
 
 
"Offenses” include: 
- Any offense similar to those listed in § 9.1-902 under the laws of any foreign country or 
any political subdivision thereof, the United States or any political subdivision thereof; 
and  
-Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors registry 
is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted. 
- UCMJ offenses review Department of Defense Instruction (DoDI) 1325.07 (Appendix 4 
of Enclosure 2) 
 
 



7  

 

 

 
Chapter 613 / 614 – 2019 Session 
House Bill 2089 – Senate Bill 1418 

Passed in 2019 with an effective date of July 1, 2020 
 

Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry; reregistration schedule. This Bill 
amended § 9.1-904 thereby changing the dates for required reregistration of persons on 
the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (the Registry) from a repeating 
specified number of days after initial registration to time periods corresponding to such 
person's birth month and the first letter of such person's last name. The time intervals 
for reregistration for each of the following four categories of reregistration do not 
materially change. The bill provides that (i) a person required to register, other than 
those persons convicted of a sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister once 
each year during such person's birth month; current law is once each year from the date 
of initial registration; (ii) a person convicted of a sexually violent offense or murder shall 
reregister every three months, beginning in such person's birth month; current law is 
every 90 days from the date of initial registration; (iii) a person convicted of providing 
false information or failing to provide registration information, but not convicted of a 
sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister every six months beginning with such 
person's birth month; current law is every 180 days from the date of such conviction; 
and (iv) a person convicted of providing false information or failing to provide 
registration information, when such person was included in the Registry for a sexually 
violent offense or murder, shall reregister every month; current law is every 30 days 
from the date of such conviction. The bill requires persons with a last name beginning 
with A through L to register from the first to the fifteenth of each required reporting 
month and persons with last names M through Z to register from the sixteenth to the last 
day of the month of each required reporting month. The bill also requires that for the 
period of July 1, 2020, to July 1, 2021, any person required to reregister shall continue 
to reregister with the State Police on such person's reregistration schedule in place prior 
to July 1, 2020, until such person has reregistered pursuant to the new reregistration 
schedule, at which time such person shall continue reregistering with the new schedule. 
The bill has a delayed effective date of July 1, 2020. 
 

 
 

CHAPTER 613 /614 
An Act to amend and reenact § 9.1-904 of the Code of Virginia, relating to Sex 

Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry; reregistration schedule. 

[H 2089 / S 1418] 

Approved March 19, 2019 

  

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That § 9.1-904 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: 

§ 9.1-904. Reregistration. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
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A. Every person required to register, other than a person convicted of a sexually 

violent offense or murder, shall reregister with the State Police on an annual basis 

from the date of the initial registration. Every person convicted of a sexually violent 

offense or murder shall reregister with the State Police every 90 days from the date of 

initial registration on a schedule pursuant to this section. Reregistration means that 

the person has notified the State Police,; confirmed his current physical and mailing 

address and electronic mail address information, and any instant message, chat, or 

other Internet communication name or identity information that he uses or intends to 

use,; and provided such other information, including identifying 

information, which that the State Police may require. Upon registration and as may be 

necessary thereafter, the State Police shall provide the person with an address 

verification form to be used for reregistration. The form shall contain in bold print a 

statement indicating that failure to comply with the registration required is punishable 

as provided in § 18.2-472.1. Copies of all forms to be used for reregistration and 

guidelines for submitting such forms, including month and time reregistration 

intervals pursuant to subsections C and D, shall be available through distribution by 

the State Police, from local law-enforcement agencies, and in a format capable of 

being downloaded and printed from a website maintained by the State Police. Upon 

registration and as may be necessary thereafter, the person shall likewise be required 

to execute a consent form consistent with applicable law that authorizes a business or 

organization that offers electronic communications or remote computer services to 

provide to the Department of State Police any information pertaining to that person 

necessary to determine the veracity of his electronic identity information in the 

registry. 

B. Any person convicted of a violation of § 18.2-472.1, other than a person convicted 

of a sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister with the State Police every 

180 days from the date of such conviction. Any person convicted of a violation of 

§ 18.2-472.1, in which such person was included on the Registry for a conviction of a 

sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister with the State Police every 30 days 

from the date of conviction. Reregistration means the person has notified the State 

Police, confirmed his current physical and mailing address and electronic mail address 

information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or 

identity information that he uses or intends to use, and provided such other 

information, including identifying information, which the State Police may require. 

Upon registration and as may be necessary thereafter, the State Police shall provide 

the person with an address verification form to be used for reregistration. The form 

shall state the registration requirements and contain in bold print a statement 

indicating that failure to comply with the registration requirements is punishable as 

provided in § 18.2-472.1. 

C. Every person required to register pursuant to this chapter shall submit to be 

photographed by a local law-enforcement agency every two years, during such 

person's required reregistration month and time interval pursuant to subsections C 

and D, commencing with the date of initial registration reregistration. Photographs 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
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shall be in color, be taken with the registrant facing the camera, and clearly show the 

registrant's face and shoulders only. No person other than the registrant may appear in 

the photograph submitted. The photograph shall indicate the registrant's full name, 

date of birth and the date the photograph was taken. The local law-enforcement 

agency shall forthwith forward the photograph and the registration form to the State 

Police. Where practical, the local law-enforcement agency may electronically transfer 

a digital photograph containing the required information to the Sex Offender and 

Crimes Against Minors Registry within the State Police. 

C. Every person required to register, other than a person convicted of a sexually 

violent offense or murder, shall reregister with the State Police once each year during 

such person's birth month. Every person convicted of a sexually violent offense or 

murder shall reregister with the State Police four times each year at three-month 

intervals, including the person's birth month. Any person convicted of a violation of 

§ 18.2-472.1, other than a person convicted of a sexually violent offense or murder, 

shall reregister with the State Police twice each year: once in the person's birth month 

and once in the month that is six months from the person's birth month. Any person 

convicted of a violation of § 18.2-472.1, in which such person was included on the 

Registry for a conviction of a sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister with 

the State Police every month. 

D. Persons required to register with last names beginning with A through L shall 

reregister with the State Police from the first to the fifteenth of such person's 

reregistration months pursuant to subsection C, and persons required to register with 

last names beginning with M through Z shall reregister with the State Police from the 

sixteenth to the last day of the month during such person's reregistration months 

pursuant to subsection C. The last name shall be the last name in the person's name 

pursuant to § 9.1-903 as it appears in the Registry. 

E. For the period of July 1, 2020, to July 1, 2021, any person required to reregister 

shall continue to reregister with the State Police on such person's reregistration 

schedule in place prior to July 1, 2020, until such person has reregistered pursuant to 

the new reregistration schedule provided in subsections C and D, at which time such 

person shall continue to reregister pursuant to the new reregistration schedule 

provided in subsections C and D. 

2. That the provisions of this act shall become effective on July 1, 2020. 

3. That, no later than June 1, 2020, the Department of State Police shall inform every 

person required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 

Act (§ 9.1-900 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) in person of the new registration and 

reregistration system required by the provisions of this act and provide the person 

with a written description of the requirements for compliance with the provisions of 

this act, including the new reregistration schedule. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-903
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
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4. That, no later than July 1, 2020, the Department of State Police shall maintain a 

website with access to the written description of the requirements for compliance with 

the provisions of this act, including the new month and time registration and 

reregistration schedule mandated by this act, and any forms and guidelines required 

under the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act (§ 9.1-900 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) in a format capable of being downloaded and printed. 

 

 
Chapter 829 

Senate Bill 579 
 

Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. Makes numerous changes to the 
provisions governing the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. The bill 
changes the number of classifications of offenders who are required to register under 
the Registry to match the number of classifications under federal law and redesignates 
the classifications as Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III offenses. The bill also streamlines the 
reregistration process, eliminates the need for lower-level offenders to reregister 
annually, and allows offenders to electronically verify their registration information. 
 

 
 

CHAPTER 829 
An Act to amend and reenact §§ 2.2-515.2, 9.1-900, 9.1-901, 9.1-902, 9.1-903, 9.1-904, as it 

shall become effective, 9.1-906 through 9.1-914, 9.1-918, 15.2-2283.1, 16.1-228, 18.2-

348.1, 18.2-370.5, 18.2-472.1, 22.1-79, 23.1-407, 32.1-127, 46.2-116, 46.2-117, 46.2-118, 46.2-

323, 46.2-324, 46.2-330, 46.2-345, 46.2-2011.33, 63.2-100, 63.2-1205.1, 63.2-1503, 63.2-1506, 

and 63.2-1732 of the Code of Virginia, relating to Sex Offender and Crimes Against 

Minors Registry. 

[S 579] 

Approved April 7, 2020 

  

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That §§ 2.2-515.2, 9.1-900, 9.1-901, 9.1-902, 9.1-903, 9.1-904, as it shall become 

effective, 9.1-906 through 9.1-914, 9.1-918, 15.2-2283.1, 16.1-228, 18.2-348.1, 18.2-

370.5, 18.2-472.1, 22.1-79, 23.1-407, 32.1-127, 46.2-116, 46.2-117, 46.2-118, 46.2-323, 46.2-

324, 46.2-330, 46.2-345, 46.2-2011.33, 63.2-100, 63.2-1205.1, 63.2-1503, 63.2-1506, and 63.2-

1732 of the Code of Virginia are amended and reenacted as follows: 

§ 2.2-515.2. Address confidentiality program established; victims of domestic violence, 

stalking, sexual violence, or human trafficking; application; disclosure of records. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-515.2
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-901
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-903
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-906
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-914
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-918
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/15.2-2283.1
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-348.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-348.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-370.5
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-79
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/23.1-407
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-127
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-116
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-117
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-118
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-323
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-323
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A. As used in this section: 

"Address" means a residential street address, school address, or work address of a 

person as specified on the person's application to be a program participant. 

"Applicant" means a person who is a victim of domestic violence, stalking, or sexual 

violence or is a parent or guardian of a minor child or incapacitated person who is the 

victim of domestic violence, stalking, or sexual violence. 

"Domestic violence" means an act as defined in § 38.2-508 and includes threat of such 

acts committed against an individual in a domestic situation, regardless of whether 

these acts or threats have been reported to law-enforcement officers. Such threat must 

be a threat of force which would place any person in reasonable apprehension of death 

or bodily injury. 

"Program participant" means a person certified by the Office of the Attorney General 

as eligible to participate in the Address Confidentiality Program. 

"Sexual or domestic violence programs" means public and not-for-profit agencies the 

primary mission of which is to provide services to victims of sexual or domestic 

violence, or stalking. Such programs may also include specialized services for victims 

of human trafficking. 

"Sexual violence" means conduct that is prohibited under clause (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v) 

of § 18.2-48, or § 18.2-61, 18.2-63, 18.2-64.1, 18.2-67.1, 18.2-67.2, 18.2-67.3, 18.2-67.4, 18.2-

67.5, 18.2-348, 18.2-348.1, 18.2-349, 18.2-355, 18.2-356, 18.2-357, 18.2-357.1, or 18.2-368, 

regardless of whether the conduct has been reported to a law-enforcement officer or 

the assailant has been charged with or convicted of the alleged violation. 

"Stalking" means conduct that is prohibited under § 18.2-60.3, regardless of whether 

the conduct has been reported to a law-enforcement officer or the assailant has been 

charged with or convicted for the alleged violation. 

B. The Statewide Facilitator for Victims of Domestic Violence shall establish a 

program to be known as the "Address Confidentiality Program" to protect victims of 

domestic violence, stalking, or sexual violence by authorizing the use of designated 

addresses for such victims. An individual who is at least 18 years of age, a parent or 

guardian acting on behalf of a minor, a guardian acting on behalf of an incapacitated 

person, or an emancipated minor may apply in person at (i) sexual or domestic 

violence programs that have been accredited by the Virginia Sexual and Domestic 

Violence Program Professional Standards Committee established pursuant to § 9.1-

116.3 and are qualified to (a) assist the eligible person in determining whether the 

address confidentiality program should be part of such person's overall safety plan, (b) 

explain the address confidentiality program services and limitations, (c) explain the 

program participant's responsibilities, and, (d) assist the person eligible for 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/38.2-508
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-48
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-61
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-63
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-64.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.2
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.4
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.5
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.5
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-348
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-348.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-349
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-356
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-357
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-357.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-368
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-60.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-116.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-116.3
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participation with the completion of application materials or (ii) crime victim and 

witness assistance programs. The Office of the Attorney General shall approve an 

application if it is filed in the manner and on the form prescribed by the Attorney 

General and if the application contains the following: 

1. A sworn statement by the applicant declaring to be true and correct under penalty of 

perjury that the applicant has good reason to believe that: 

a. The applicant, or the minor or incapacitated individual on whose behalf the 

application is made, is a victim of domestic violence, sexual violence, or stalking; 

b. The applicant fears further acts of violence, stalking, retribution, or intimidation 

from the applicant's assailant, abuser, or trafficker; and 

c. The applicant is not on active parole or probation supervision requirements under 

federal, state, or local law. 

2. A designation of the Office of the Attorney General as agent for the purpose of 

receiving mail on behalf of the applicant; 

3. The applicant's actual address to which mail can be forwarded and a telephone 

number where the applicant can be called; 

4. A listing of any minor children residing at the applicant's actual address, each 

minor child's date of birth, and each minor child's relationship to the applicant; and 

5. The signature of the applicant and any person who assisted in the preparation of the 

application and the date. 

C. Upon approval of a completed application, the Office of the Attorney General shall 

certify the applicant as a program participant. An applicant shall be certified for three 

years following the date of the approval, unless the certification is withdrawn or 

invalidated before that date. A program participant may apply to be recertified every 

three years. 

D. Upon receipt of first-class mail addressed to a program participant, the Attorney 

General or his designee shall forward the mail to the actual address of the program 

participant. The actual address of a program participant shall be available only to the 

Attorney General and to those employees involved in the operation of the Address 

Confidentiality Program and to law-enforcement officers. A program participant's 

actual address may be entered into the Virginia Criminal Information Network 

(VCIN) system so that it may be made known to law-enforcement officers accessing 

the VCIN system for law-enforcement purposes. 

E. The Office of the Attorney General may cancel a program participant's certification 
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if: 

1. The program participant requests withdrawal from the program; 

2. The program participant obtains a name change through an order of the court and 

does not provide notice and a copy of the order to the Office of the Attorney General 

within seven days after entry of the order; 

3. The program participant changes his residence address and does not provide seven 

days' notice to the Office of the Attorney General prior to the change of address; 

4. The mail forwarded by the Office of the Attorney General to the address provided 

by the program participant is returned as undeliverable; 

5. Any information contained in the application is false; 

6. The program participant has been placed on parole or probation while a participant 

in the address confidentiality program; or 

7. The applicant is required to register as a sex offender with the Sex Offender and 

Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1. 

For purposes of the address confidentiality program, residents of temporary housing 

for 30 days or less are not eligible to enroll in the address confidentiality program 

until a permanent residential address is obtained. 

The application form shall contain a statement notifying each applicant of the 

provisions of this subsection. 

F. A program participant may request that any state or local agency use the address 

designated by the Office of the Attorney General as the program participant's address, 

except when the program participant is purchasing a firearm from a dealer in firearms. 

The agency shall accept the address designated by the Office of the Attorney General 

as a program participant's address, unless the agency has received a written exemption 

from the Office of the Attorney General demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 

Attorney General that: 

1. The agency has a bona fide statutory basis for requiring the program participant to 

disclose to it the actual location of the program participant; and 

2. The disclosed confidential address of the program participant will be used only for 

that statutory purpose and will not be disclosed or made available in any way to any 

other person or agency. 

A state agency may request an exemption by providing in writing to the Office of the 

Attorney General identification of the statute or administrative rule that demonstrates 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
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the agency's bona fide requirement and authority for the use of the actual address of 

an individual. A request for a waiver from an agency may be for an individual 

program participant, a class of program participants, or all program participants. The 

denial of an agency's exemption request shall be in writing and include a statement of 

the specific reasons for the denial. Acceptance or denial of an agency's exemption 

request shall constitute final agency action. 

Any state or local agency that discloses the program participant's confidential address 

provided by the Office of the Attorney General shall be immune from civil liability 

unless the agency acted with gross negligence or willful misconduct. 

A program participant's actual address shall be disclosed pursuant to a court order. 

G. Records submitted to or provided by the Office of the Attorney General in 

accordance with this section shall be exempt from disclosure under the Virginia 

Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.) to the extent such records contain 

information identifying a past or current program participant, including such person's 

name, actual and designated address, telephone number, and any email address. 

However, access shall not be denied to the person who is the subject thereof, or the 

parent or legal guardian of a program participant in cases where the program 

participant is a minor child or an incapacitated person, except when the parent or legal 

guardian is named as the program participant's assailant. 

H. Neither the Office of the Attorney General, its officers or employees, or others who 

have a responsibility to a program participant under this section shall have any 

liability nor shall any cause of action arise against them in their official or personal 

capacity from the failure of a program participant to receive any first class mail 

forwarded to him by the Office of the Attorney General pursuant to this section. Nor 

shall any such liability or cause of action arise from the failure of a program 

participant to timely receive any first class mail forwarded by the Office of the 

Attorney General pursuant to this section. 

§ 9.1-900. Purpose of the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. 

The purpose of the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (Registry) shall 

be to assist the efforts of law-enforcement agencies and others to protect their 

communities and families from repeat sex offenders and to protect children from 

becoming victims of criminal offenders by helping to prevent such individuals from 

being allowed to work directly with children. 

§ 9.1-901. Persons for whom registration required. 

A. Every person convicted on or after July 1, 1994, including a juvenile tried and 

convicted in the circuit court pursuant to § 16.1-269.1, whether sentenced as an adult or 

juvenile, of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 and every juvenile found delinquent of an 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-3700
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-901
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-269.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
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offense for which registration is required under subsection G C of § 9.1-902 shall 

register and, reregister, and verify his registration information as required by this 

chapter. Every person serving a sentence of confinement on or after July 1, 1994, for a 

conviction of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and, reregister, and verify 

his registration information as required by this chapter. Every person under 

community supervision as defined by § 53.1-1 or any similar form of supervision 

under the laws of the United States or any political subdivision thereof, on or after 

July 1, 1994, resulting from a conviction of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall 

register and, reregister, and verify his registration information as required by this 

chapter. 

B. Every person found not guilty by reason of insanity on or after July 1, 2007, of an 

offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and, reregister, and verify his registration 

information as required by this chapter. Every person in the custody of the 

Commissioner of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, or on conditional 

release on or after July 1, 2007, because of a finding of not guilty by reason of 

insanity of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 shall register and, reregister, and verify his 

registration information as required by this chapter. 

C. Unless a specific effective date is otherwise provided, all provisions of the Sex 

Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act shall apply retroactively. This 

subsection is declaratory of existing law. 

§ 9.1-902. Offenses requiring registration. 

A. For purposes of this chapter: 

"Murder" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate § 18.2-

31 or 18.2-32 where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the victim is at 

least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder is related to an offense 

listed in this section or a violation of former § 18.1-21 where the victim is (a) under 15 

years of age or (b) at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder 

is related to an offense listed in this section. 

"Offense for which registration is required" includes: 

1. Any Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III offense listed in subsection B; 

2. Criminal homicide; 

3. Murder; 

4. A sexually violent offense; 

5. 3. Any offense similar to those listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 a Tier I, Tier II, or 

Tier III offense under the laws of any foreign country or any political subdivision 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/53.1-1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-31
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-31
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-32
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.1-21
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thereof or the United States or any political subdivision thereof; and 

6. 4. Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors 

registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted. 

B. The offenses included under this subsection include"Tier I offense" means (i) any 

homicide in conjunction with a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to 

violate clause (i) of § 18.2-371 or § 18.2-371.1, when the offenses arise out of the same 

incident, or (ii) any violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate: 

1. § 18.2-63 unless registration is required pursuant to subdivision E 1 of the definition 

of Tier III offense; § 18.2-64.1; former § 18.2-67.2:1; § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit 

rape; former § 18.1-88 with the intent to commit rape; any felony violation of § 18.2-

346; any violation of subdivision (4) of § 18.2-355; any violation of subsection C of 

§ 18.2-357.1; subsection B or C of § 18.2-374.1:1; former subsection D of § 18.2-

374.1:1 as it was in effect from July 1, 1994, through June 30, 2007; former clause (iv) 

of subsection B of § 18.2-374.3 as it was in effect on June 30, 2007; subsection B, C, or 

D of § 18.2-374.3; or a third or subsequent conviction of (i) § 18.2-67.4, (ii) § 18.2-67.4:2, 

(iii) subsection C of § 18.2-67.5, or (iv) § 18.2-386.1. 

If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 

commit any felony offense listed in this section; subsection A of § 18.2-374.1:1; or a 

felony under § 18.2-67.5:1. 

2. Where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-67.4, 

subsection C of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or a felony violation of former 

§ 18.1-191. 

3. § 18.2-370.6. 

4. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, and where the perpetrator is 

18 years of age or older and the victim is under the age of 13, any violation of § 18.2-

51.2. 

5. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, any violation of § 18.2-

356 punishable as a Class 3 felony or any violation of § 18.2-357 punishable as a Class 

3 felony. 

6. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2019, any felony violation of 

§ 18.2-348 or 18.2-349. 

C. "Criminal homicide" means a homicide in conjunction with a violation of, 

attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate clause (i) of § 18.2-371 or § 18.2-371.1, 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-63
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-64.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.2:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-90
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.1-88
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-346
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-346
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-355
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-357.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.4
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.4:2
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.5
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-386.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-91
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.5:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.10
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-47
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-48
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.4
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.5
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-361
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-366
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.1-191
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when the offenses arise out of the same incident. 

D. "Murder" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate 

§ 18.2-31 or § 18.2-32 where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the 

victim is at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder is related to 

an offense listed in this section or a violation of former § 18.1-21 where the victim is 

(a) under 15 years of age or (b) at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and 

the murder is related to an offense listed in this section. 

E. "Sexually violent offense" "Tier II offense" means any violation of, attempted 

violation of, or conspiracy to violate § 18.2-64.1, subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1, or 

subsection C, D, or E of § 18.2-374.3. 

"Tier III offense" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to 

violate: 

1. Clause (ii) and (iii) of § 18.2-48, former § 18.1-38 with the intent to defile or, for the 

purpose of concubinage or prostitution, a felony violation of subdivision (2) or (3) of 

former § 18.1-39 that involves assisting or aiding in such an abduction, § 18.2-61, 

former § 18.1-44 when such act is accomplished against the complaining witness's will, 

by force, or through the use of the complaining witness's mental incapacity or 

physical helplessness, or if the victim is under 13 years of age, subsection A of § 18.2-

63 where the perpetrator is more than five years older than the victim, § 18.2-67.1, 

§ 18.2-67.2, § 18.2-67.3, former § 18.1-215 when the complaining witness is under 13 

years of age, § 18.2-67.4 where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and the 

victim is under the age of six, subsections A and B of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-370, 

subdivision (1), (2), or (4) of former § 18.1-213, former § 18.1-214, § 18.2-370.1, or 

§ 18.2-374.1; 

2. § 18.2-63, § 18.2-64.1, former § 18.2-67.2:1, § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit rape 

or, where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, § 18.2-67.4, subsection C of § 18.2-

67.5, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1. An 

offense listed under this subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent Tier 

III offense only if the person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two 

or more such offenses, provided that person had been at liberty between such 

convictions or adjudications; 

3. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 

commit any felony offense listed in this section. An offense listed under this 

subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent Tier III offense only if the person has 

been convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided 

that the person had been at liberty between such convictions or adjudications; or 

4. Chapter 117 (18 U.S.C. § 2421 et seq.) of Title 18 of the United States Code or sex 
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trafficking (as described in § 1591 of Title 18, U.S.C.). 

F. "Any offense listed in subsection B," "criminal homicide" B. "Tier I offense" as 

defined in this section, "Tier II offense" as defined in this section, "Tier III offense" as 

defined in this section, and "murder" as defined in this section, and "sexually violent 

offense" as defined in this section includes (i) includes any similar offense under the 

laws of any foreign country or any political subdivision thereof or the United States or 

any political subdivision thereof or (ii) any offense for which registration in a sex 

offender and crimes against minors registry is required under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where the offender was convicted. 

G. C. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent shall not be required to register; however, 

where the offender is a juvenile over the age of 13 at the time of the offense who is 

tried as a juvenile and is adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2005, of any 

offense for which registration is required, the court may, in its discretion and upon 

motion of the attorney for the Commonwealth, find that the circumstances of the 

offense require offender registration. In making its determination, the court shall 

consider all of the following factors that are relevant to the case: (i) the degree to 

which the delinquent act was committed with the use of force, threat, or intimidation, 

(ii) the age and maturity of the complaining witness, (iii) the age and maturity of the 

offender, (iv) the difference in the ages of the complaining witness and the offender, 

(v) the nature of the relationship between the complaining witness and the offender, 

(vi) the offender's prior criminal history, and (vii) any other aggravating or mitigating 

factors relevant to the case. The attorney for the Commonwealth may file such a 

motion at any time during which the offender is within the jurisdiction of the court for 

the offense that is the basis for such motion. Prior to any hearing on such motion, the 

court shall appoint a qualified and competent attorney-at-law to represent the offender 

unless an attorney has been retained and appears on behalf of the offender or counsel 

has already been appointed. 

H. D. Prior to entering judgment of conviction of an offense for which registration is 

required if the victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally 

incapacitated, when the indictment, warrant, or information does not allege that the 

victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, the 

court shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether the victim of the 

offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, as defined in 

§ 18.2-67.10, and shall also determine the age of the victim at the time of the offense if 

it determines the victim to be a minor. When such a determination is required, the 

court shall advise the defendant of its determination and of the defendant's right to 

make a motion to withdraw a plea of guilty or nolo contendere pursuant to § 19.2-296. 

If the court grants the defendant's motion to withdraw his plea of guilty or of nolo 

contendere, his case shall be heard by another judge, unless the parties agree 

otherwise. Failure to make such determination or so advise the defendant does not 

otherwise invalidate the underlying conviction. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.10
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/19.2-296
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§ 9.1-903. Registration and reregistration procedures. 

A. Every person convicted, including juveniles tried and convicted in the circuit 

courts pursuant to § 16.1-269.1, whether sentenced as an adult or juvenile, of an offense 

for which registration is required and every juvenile found delinquent of an offense 

for which registration is required under subsection G C of § 9.1-902 shall be required 

upon conviction to register and, reregister, and verify his registration information with 

the Department of State Police. The court shall order the person to provide to the local 

law-enforcement agency of the county or city where he physically resides all 

information required by the State Police for inclusion in the Registry. The court shall 

immediately remand the person to the custody of the local law-enforcement agency 

for the purpose of obtaining the person's fingerprints and photographs of a type and 

kind specified by the State Police for inclusion in the Registry. Upon conviction, the 

local law-enforcement agency shall forthwith forward to the State Police all the 

necessary registration information. 

B. Every person required to register shall register in person within three days of his 

release from confinement in a state, local or juvenile correctional facility, in a state 

civil commitment program for sexually violent predators or, if a sentence of 

confinement is not imposed, within three days of suspension of the sentence or in the 

case of a juvenile of disposition. A person required to register shall register, and as 

part of the registration shall submit to be photographed, submit to have a sample of his 

blood, saliva, or tissue taken for DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) analysis and 

submission to the DNA databank to determine identification characteristics specific to 

the person, provide electronic mail address information, any instant message, chat or 

other Internet communication name or identity information that the person uses or 

intends to use, submit to have his fingerprints and palm prints taken, provide 

information regarding his place of employment, and provide motor vehicle, watercraft 

and aircraft registration information for all motor vehicles, watercraft and aircraft 

owned by him. The local law-enforcement agency shall obtain from the person who 

presents himself for registration or reregistration one set of fingerprints, electronic 

mail address information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication 

name or identity information that the person uses or intends to use, one set of palm 

prints, place of employment information, motor vehicle, watercraft and aircraft 

registration information for all motor vehicles, watercraft and aircraft owned by the 

registrant, proof of residency and a photograph of a type and kind specified by the 

State Police for inclusion in the Registry and advise the person of his duties regarding 

reregistration and verification of his registration information. The local law-

enforcement agency shall obtain from the person who presents himself for registration 

a sample of his blood, saliva or tissue taken for DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) analysis 

to determine identification characteristics specific to the person. If a sample has been 

previously taken from the person, as indicated by the Local Inmate Data System 

(LIDS), no additional sample shall be taken. The local law-enforcement agency shall 

forthwith forward to the State Police all necessary registration information. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-903
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-269.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
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C. To establish proof of residence in Virginia, a person who has a permanent physical 

address shall present one photo-identification form issued by a governmental agency 

of the Commonwealth which contains the person's complete name, gender, date of 

birth and complete physical address. The local law-enforcement agency shall 

forthwith forward to the State Police a copy of the identification presented by the 

person required to register. 

D. Any person required to register shall also reregister in person with the local law-

enforcement agency following any change of name or any change of residence, 

whether within or without the Commonwealth. The person shall register in person 

with the local law-enforcement agency within three days following his change of 

name. If his new residence is within the Commonwealth, the person shall register in 

person with the local law-enforcement agency where his new residence is located 

within three days following his change in residence. If the new residence is located 

outside of the Commonwealth, the person shall register in person with the local law-

enforcement agency where he previously registered within 10 days prior to his change 

of residence. If a probation or parole officer becomes aware of a change of name or 

residence for any of his probationers or parolees required to register, the probation or 

parole officer shall notify the State Police forthwith of learning of the change. 

Whenever a person subject to registration changes residence to another state, the State 

Police shall notify the designated law-enforcement agency of that state. 

E. Any person required to register shall reregister in person with the local law-

enforcement agency where his residence is located within three days following any 

change of the place of employment, whether within or without the Commonwealth. If 

a probation or parole officer becomes aware of a change of the place of employment 

for any of his probationers or parolees required to register, the probation or parole 

officer shall notify the State Police forthwith upon learning of the change of the 

person's place of employment. Whenever a person subject to registration changes his 

place of employment to another state, the State Police shall notify the designated law-

enforcement agency of that state. 

F. Any person required to register shall reregister in person with the local law-

enforcement agency where his residence is located within three days following any 

change of owned motor vehicle, watercraft and aircraft registration information, 

whether within or without the Commonwealth. If a probation or parole officer 

becomes aware of a change of owned motor vehicle, watercraft and aircraft 

registration information for any of his probationers or parolees required to register, the 

probation or parole officer shall notify the State Police forthwith upon learning of the 

change of the person's owned motor vehicle, watercraft and aircraft registration 

information. Whenever a person required to register changes his owned motor vehicle, 

watercraft and aircraft registration information to another state, the State Police shall 

notify the designated law-enforcement agency of that state. 

G. Any person required to register shall reregister either in person or electronically 
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with the local law-enforcement agency where his residence is located within 30 

minutes following any change of the electronic mail address information, any instant 

message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity information that the 

person uses or intends to use, whether within or without the Commonwealth. If a 

probation or parole officer becomes aware of a change of the electronic mail address 

information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or 

identity information for any of his probationers or parolees required to register, the 

probation or parole officer shall notify the State Police forthwith upon learning of the 

change. 

H. Every person required to register shall submit to be photographed by a local law-

enforcement agency every two years, during such person's required verification 

month and time interval pursuant to subsection B of § 9.1-904, commencing with the 

date of initial verification. The local law-enforcement agency shall forthwith forward 

the photograph of a type and kind specified by the State Police to the State Police. 

Where practical, the local law-enforcement agency may electronically transfer a 

digital photograph containing the required information to the Registry. 

I. Upon registration and every two years thereafter during such person's required 

verification month and time interval pursuant to subsection B of § 9.1-904, every 

person required to register shall be required to execute a consent form consistent with 

applicable law that authorizes a business or organization that offers electronic 

communications or remote computer services to provide to the Department of State 

Police any information pertaining to that person necessary to determine the veracity 

of his electronic identity information in the Registry. 

J. The registration shall be maintained in the Registry and shall include the person's 

name, any former name if he has lawfully changed his name during the period for 

which he is required to register, all aliases that he has used or under which he may 

have been known, the date and locality of the conviction for which registration is 

required, his fingerprints and a photograph of a type and kind specified by the State 

Police, his date of birth, social security number, current physical and mailing address 

and a description of the offense or offenses for which he was convicted. The 

registration shall also include the locality of the conviction and a description of the 

offense or offenses for previous convictions for the offenses set forth in § 9.1-902. 

I. K. The local law-enforcement agency shall forthwith forward to the State Police all 

necessary registration or reregistration information received by it. Upon receipt of 

registration or reregistration information the State Police shall forthwith notify the 

chief law-enforcement officer of the locality listed as the person's address on the 

registration and reregistration. 

J. L. If a person required to register does not have a legal residence, such person shall 

designate a location that can be located with reasonable specificity where he resides or 

habitually locates himself. For the purposes of this section, "residence" shall include 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902
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such a designated location. If the person wishes to change such designated location, 

he shall do it pursuant to the terms of this section. 

§ 9.1-904. (Effective July 1, 2020) Periodic verification. 

A. Every person required to register shall reregister with the State Police on a 

schedule pursuant to this section. Reregistration For purposes of this chapter, "verify 

his registration information" means that the person required to register has notified 

the State Police; confirmed his current physical and mailing address and electronic 

mail address information and any instant message, chat, or other Internet 

communication name or identity information that he uses or intends to use; and 

provided such other information, including identifying information, that the State 

Police may require. Upon registration and as may be necessary thereafter, the 

B. Any person required to register shall verify his registration information with the 

State Police, during such person's required verification month and time interval, 

commencing with the date of initial registration, as follows: 

1. Any person convicted of a Tier III offense or murder, four times each year at three-

month intervals, including the person's birth month; and 

2. Any person convicted of a violation of § 18.2-472.1, in which such person was 

included on the Registry for a conviction of a Tier III offense or murder, every month. 

C. The State Police shall provide make available to the person with an address 

verification form to be used for reregistration verification of his registration 

information. The form shall contain in bold print a statement indicating that failure to 

comply with the registration verification required is punishable as provided in § 18.2-

472.1. Copies of all forms to be used for reregistration verification and guidelines for 

submitting such forms, including month and 

time reregistration verification intervals pursuant to subsections C and D, shall be 

available through distribution by the State Police, from local law-enforcement 

agencies, and in a format capable of being downloaded and printed from a website 

maintained by the State Police. Upon registration and as may be necessary thereafter, 

the person shall likewise be required to execute a consent form consistent with 

applicable law that authorizes a business or organization that offers electronic 

communications or remote computer services to provide to the Department of State 

Police any information pertaining to that person necessary to determine the veracity of 

his electronic identity information in the registry. 

B. Every person required to register pursuant to this chapter shall submit to be 

photographed by a local law-enforcement agency every two years, during such 

person's required reregistration month and time interval pursuant to subsections C and 

D, commencing with the date of initial reregistration. Photographs shall be in color, be 

taken with the registrant facing the camera, and clearly show the registrant's face and 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-904
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
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shoulders only. No person other than the registrant may appear in the photograph 

submitted. The photograph shall indicate the registrant's full name, date of birth and 

the date the photograph was taken. The local law-enforcement agency shall forthwith 

forward the photograph and the registration form to the State Police. Where practical, 

the local law-enforcement agency may electronically transfer a digital photograph 

containing the required information to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors 

Registry within the State Police. 

C. Every person required to register, other than a person convicted of a sexually 

violent offense or murder, shall reregister with the State Police once each year during 

such person's birth month. Every person convicted of a sexually violent offense or 

murder shall reregister with the State Police four times each year at three-month 

intervals, including the person's birth month. Any person convicted of a violation of 

§ 18.2-472.1, other than a person convicted of a sexually violent offense or murder, 

shall reregister with the State Police twice each year: once in the person's birth month 

and once in the month that is six months from the person's birth month. Any person 

convicted of a violation of § 18.2-472.1, in which such person was included on the 

Registry for a conviction of a sexually violent offense or murder, shall reregister with 

the State Police every month. 

D. Persons required to register with last names beginning with A through L 

shall reregister verify their registration information with the State Police from the first 

to the fifteenth of such person's reregistration verification months pursuant to 

subsection C B, and persons required to register with last names beginning with M 

through Z shall reregister verify their registration information with the State Police 

from the sixteenth to the last day of the month during such 

person's reregistration verification months pursuant to subsection C B. The last name 

shall be the last name in the person's name pursuant to § 9.1-903 as it appears in the 

Registry. 

E. For the period of July 1, 2020, to July 1, 2021, any person required 

to reregister verify his registration information shall continue to reregister verify his 

resignation information with the State Police on such 

person's reregistration verification schedule in place prior to July 1, 2020, until such 

person has reregistered verified his registration information pursuant to the 

new reregistration verification schedule provided in subsections C and D subsection 

B, at which time such person shall continue to reregister verify his registration 

information pursuant to the new reregistration verification schedule provided in 

subsections C and D. 

§ 9.1-906. Enrollment or employment at institution of higher education; information 

required. 

A. Persons required to register or, reregister, or verify their registration 

information who are enrolled in or employed at institutions of higher education shall, 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-903
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-906
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in addition to other registration requirements, indicate on their 

registration and, reregistration, and verification form the name and location of the 

institution attended by or employing the registrant whether such institution is within 

or without the Commonwealth. In addition, persons required to register or, reregister, 

or verify their registration information shall notify the local law-enforcement agency 

in person within three days of any change in their enrollment or employment status 

with an institution of higher education. The local law-enforcement agency shall 

forthwith forward to the State Police all necessary registration or reregistration 

information received by it. 

B. Upon receipt of a registration or, reregistration, or verification of registration 

information indicating enrollment or employment with an institution of higher 

education or notification of a change in status, the State Police shall notify the chief 

law-enforcement officer of the institution's law-enforcement agency or, if there is no 

institutional law-enforcement agency, the local law-enforcement agency serving that 

institution, of the registration, reregistration, verification of registration 

information, or change in status. The law-enforcement agency receiving notification 

under this section shall make such information available upon request. 

C. For purposes of this section: 

"Employment" includes full- or part-time, temporary or permanent or contractual 

employment at an institution of higher education either with or without compensation. 

"Enrollment" includes both full- and part-time. 

"Institution of higher education" means any postsecondary school, trade or 

professional institution, or institution of higher education. 

§ 9.1-907. Procedures upon a failure to register, reregister, or verify registration 

information. 

A. Whenever it appears from the records of the State Police that a person has failed to 

comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his registration 

information, the State Police shall promptly investigate and, if there is probable cause 

to believe a violation has occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in obtaining an 

indictment charging a violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which the person 

last registered or, reregistered, or verified his registration information or, if the person 

failed to comply with the duty to register, in the jurisdiction in which the person was 

last convicted of an offense for which registration or reregistration is required or if the 

person was convicted of an offense requiring registration outside the Commonwealth, 

in the jurisdiction in which the person resides. The State Police shall forward to the 

jurisdiction an affidavit signed by a custodian of the records that such person failed to 

comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his registration information. If 

such affidavit is admitted into evidence, it shall constitute prima facie evidence of the 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-907
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failure to comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his registration 

information in any trial or hearing for the violation of § 18.2-472.1, provided that in a 

trial or hearing other than a preliminary hearing, the requirements of subsection G of 

§ 18.2-472.1 have been satisfied and the accused has not objected to the admission of 

the affidavit pursuant to subsection H of § 18.2-472.1. The State Police shall also 

promptly notify the local law-enforcement agency of the jurisdiction of the person's 

last known residence as shown in the records of the State Police. 

B. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a law-enforcement officer employed by a 

sheriff's office or police department of a locality from enforcing the provisions of this 

chapter, including obtaining a warrant, or assisting in obtaining an indictment for a 

violation of § 18.2-472.1. The local law-enforcement agency shall notify the State 

Police forthwith of such actions taken pursuant to this chapter or under the authority 

granted pursuant to this section. 

C. The State Police shall physically verify or cause to be physically verified the 

registration information within 30 days of the initial registration and semiannually 

each year thereafter and within 30 days of a change of address of those persons who 

are not under the control of the Department of Corrections or community supervision 

as defined by § 53.1-1, who are required to register pursuant to this chapter. Whenever 

it appears that a person has provided false registration information, the State Police 

shall promptly investigate and, if there is probable cause to believe that a violation has 

occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in obtaining an indictment charging a violation of 

§ 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which the person last registered or, reregistered, or 

verified his registration information. The State Police shall forward to the jurisdiction 

an affidavit signed by a custodian of the records that such person failed to comply 

with the provisions of this chapter. If such affidavit is admitted into evidence, it shall 

constitute prima facie evidence of the failure to comply with the provisions of this 

chapter in any trial or hearing for the violation of § 18.2-472.1, provided that in a trial 

or hearing other than a preliminary hearing, the requirements of subsection G of 

§ 18.2-472.1 have been satisfied and the accused has not objected to the admission of 

the affidavit pursuant to subsection H of § 18.2-472.1. The State Police shall also 

promptly notify the local law-enforcement agency of the jurisdiction of the person's 

last known residence as shown in the records of the State Police. 

D. The Department of Corrections or community supervision as defined by § 53.1-

1 shall physically verify or cause to be physically verified by the State Police the 

registration information within 30 days of the original registration and semiannually 

each year thereafter and within 30 days of a change of address of all persons who are 

under the control of the Department of Corrections or community supervision, and 

those who are under supervision pursuant to § 37.2-919, who are required to register 

pursuant to this chapter. The Department of Corrections or community supervision, 

upon request, shall provide the State Police the verification information, in an 

electronic format approved by the State Police, regarding persons under their control 

who are required to register pursuant to the chapter. Whenever it appears that a person 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
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has provided false registration information, the Department of Corrections or 

community supervision shall promptly notify the State Police, who shall investigate 

and, if there is probable cause to believe that a violation has occurred, obtain a 

warrant or assist in obtaining an indictment charging a violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the 

jurisdiction in which the person last registered or, reregistered, or verified his 

registration information. The State Police shall forward to the jurisdiction an affidavit 

signed by a custodian of the records that such person failed to comply with the 

provisions of this chapter. If such affidavit is admitted into evidence, it shall constitute 

prima facie evidence of the failure to comply with the provisions of this chapter in any 

trial or hearing for the violation of § 18.2-472.1, provided that in a trial or hearing other 

than a preliminary hearing, the requirements of subsection G of § 18.2-472.1 have been 

satisfied and the accused has not objected to the admission of the affidavit pursuant to 

subsection H of § 18.2-472.1. The State Police shall also promptly notify the local law-

enforcement agency of the jurisdiction of the person's last known residence as shown 

in the records of the State Police. 

§ 9.1-908. Duration of registration requirement. 

Any person required to register or, reregister, or verify his registration 

information shall be required to register until the duty to register and, reregister, or 

verify his registration information is terminated by a court order as set forth in § 9.1-

910, except that any person who has been convicted of (i) any sexually violent Tier 

III offense, (ii) murder or (iii) former § 18.2-67.2:1 shall have a continuing duty to 

reregister or verify his registration information for life. 

Any period of confinement in a federal, state, or local correctional facility, hospital, or 

any other institution or facility during the otherwise applicable period shall toll the 

registration or verification period and the duty to reregister or verify his registration 

information shall be extended. Persons confined in a federal, state, or local 

correctional facility shall not be required to reregister or verify his registration 

information until released from custody. Persons civilly committed pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 37.2-900 et seq.) of Title 37.2 shall not be required to reregister or verify 

his registration information until released from custody. Persons confined in a federal, 

state, or local correctional facility or civilly committed pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 37.2-

900 et seq.) of Title 37.2 shall notify the Registry within three days following any 

change of name. 

§ 9.1-909. Relief from registration, reregistration, or verification. 

A. Upon expiration of three years from the date upon which the duty to register as 

a sexually violent Tier III offender or murderer is imposed, the person required to 

register may petition the court in which he was convicted or, if the conviction 

occurred outside of the Commonwealth, the circuit court in the jurisdiction where he 

currently resides, for relief from the requirement to reregister every 90 days verify his 

registration information four times each year at three-month intervals. After five 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
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years from the date of his last conviction for a violation of § 18.2-472.1, a sexually 

violent Tier III offender or murderer may petition for relief from the requirement 

to reregister monthly verify his registration information every month. A person who is 

required to register may similarly petition the circuit court for relief from the 

requirement to reregister every 180 days verify his registration twice each year after 

five years from the date of his last conviction for a violation of § 18.2-472.1. The court 

shall hold a hearing on the petition, on notice to the attorney for the Commonwealth, 

to determine whether the person suffers from a mental abnormality or a personality 

disorder that makes the person a menace to the health and safety of others or 

significantly impairs his ability to control his sexual behavior. Prior to the hearing the 

court shall order a comprehensive assessment of the applicant by a panel of three 

certified sex offender treatment providers as defined in § 54.1-3600. A report of the 

assessment shall be filed with the court prior to the hearing. The costs of the 

assessment shall be taxed as costs of the proceeding. 

If, after consideration of the report and such other evidence as may be presented at the 

hearing, the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the person does not 

suffer from a mental abnormality or a personality disorder that makes the person a 

menace to the health and safety of others or significantly impairs his ability to control 

his sexual behavior, the petition shall be granted and the duty to reregister verify his 

registration information more frequently than once a year shall be terminated. The 

court shall promptly notify the State Police upon entry of an order granting the 

petition. The person shall, however, be under a continuing duty to register annually 

for life. If the petition is denied, the duty to reregister verify his registration 

information with the same frequency as before shall continue. An appeal from the 

denial of a petition shall lie to the Supreme Court. 

A petition for relief pursuant to this subsection may not be filed within three years 

from the date on which any previous petition for such relief was denied. 

B. The duly appointed guardian of a person convicted of an offense requiring 

registration or, reregistration, or verification of his registration information as either 

a sex offender, sexually violent Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III offender or murderer, who 

due to a physical condition is incapable of (i) reoffending and (ii) reregistering or 

verifying his registration information, may petition the court in which the person was 

convicted for relief from the requirement to reregister or verify his registration 

information. The court shall hold a hearing on the petition, on notice to the attorney 

for the Commonwealth, to determine whether the person suffers from a physical 

condition that makes the person (i) no longer a menace to the health and safety of 

others and (ii) incapable of reregistering or verifying his registration information. 

Prior to the hearing the court shall order a comprehensive assessment of the applicant 

by at least two licensed physicians other than the person's primary care physician. A 

report of the assessment shall be filed with the court prior to the hearing. The costs of 

the assessment shall be taxed as costs of the proceeding. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
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If, after consideration of the report and such other evidence as may be presented at the 

hearing, the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that due to his physical 

condition the person (i) no longer poses a menace to the health and safety of others 

and (ii) is incapable of reregistering or verifying his registration information, the 

petition shall be granted and the duty to reregister or verify his registration 

information shall be terminated. However, for a person whose duty to reregister or 

verify his registration information was terminated under this subsection, the 

Department of State Police shall, annually for sex offenders Tier I or Tier II 

offenders and quarterly for persons convicted of sexually violent Tier III offenses and 

murder, verify and report to the attorney for the Commonwealth in the jurisdiction in 

which the person resides that the person continues to suffer from the physical 

condition that resulted in such termination. 

The court shall promptly notify the State Police upon entry of an order granting the 

petition to terminate the duty to reregister. 

If the petition is denied, the duty to reregister shall continue. An appeal from the 

denial of a petition shall be to the Virginia Supreme Court. 

A petition for relief pursuant to this subsection may not be filed within three years 

from the date on which any previous petition for such relief was denied. 

If, at any time, the person's physical condition changes so that he is capable of 

reoffending or, reregistering, or verifying his registration information, the attorney for 

the Commonwealth shall file a petition with the circuit court in the jurisdiction where 

the person resides and the court shall hold a hearing on the petition, with notice to the 

person and his guardian, to determine whether the person still suffers from a physical 

condition that makes the person (i) no longer a menace to the health and safety of 

others and (ii) incapable of reregistering or verifying his registration information. If 

the petition is granted, the duty to reregister shall commence from the date of the 

court's order. An appeal from the denial or granting of a petition shall be to the 

Virginia Supreme Court. Prior to the hearing the court shall order a comprehensive 

assessment of the applicant by at least two licensed physicians other than the person's 

primary care physician. A report of the assessment shall be filed with the court prior 

to the hearing. The costs of the assessment shall be taxed as costs of the proceeding. 

§ 9.1-910. Removal of name and information from Registry. 

A. Any person required to register, other than a person who has been convicted of any 

(i) sexually violent Tier III offense, (ii) two or more offenses for which registration is 

required, (iii) a violation of former § 18.2-67.2:1, or (iv) murder, may petition the 

circuit court in which he was convicted or the circuit court in the jurisdiction where he 

then resides for removal of his name and all identifying information from the 

Registry. A person who is required to register for a single Tier I offense 

may petition may not be filed the court no earlier than 15 years, or 25 years for 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-910
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violations of § 18.2-64.1, subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1, or subsection C, D, or E of 

§ 18.2-374.3, or of any similar offense under the laws of any foreign country or any 

political subdivision thereof or the United States or any political subdivision thereof, 

after from the later of the date of initial registration nor earlier than 15 years, or 25 

years for violations of § 18.2-64.1, subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1, or subsection C, D, or 

E of § 18.2-374.3, or of any similar offense under the laws of any foreign country or 

any political subdivision thereof or the United States or any political subdivision 

thereof, from or the date of his last conviction for (a) a violation of § 18.2-472.1 or (b) 

any felony. A person who is required to register for a single Tier II offense may 

petition the court no earlier than 25 years from the later of the date of initial 

registration or the date of his last conviction for (1) a violation of § 18.2-472.1 or (2) 

any felony. 

B. A petition may not be filed until all court ordered treatment, counseling, and 

restitution has been completed. The court shall obtain a copy of the petitioner's 

complete criminal history and registration and, reregistration, and verification of 

registration information history from the Registry and then hold a hearing on the 

petition at which the applicant and any interested persons may present witnesses and 

other evidence. The Commonwealth shall be made a party to any action under this 

section. If, after such hearing, the court is satisfied that such person no longer poses a 

risk to public safety, the court shall grant the petition. In the event the petition is not 

granted, the person shall wait at least 24 months from the date of the denial to file a 

new petition for removal from the Registry. 

B. C. The State Police shall remove from the Registry the name of any person and all 

identifying information upon receipt of an order granting a petition pursuant to 

subsection A B. 

§ 9.1-911. Registry maintenance. 

The Registry shall include conviction data received from the courts, including the 

disposition records for juveniles tried and convicted in the circuit courts pursuant to 

§ 16.1-269.1, on convictions for offenses for which registration is required and 

registrations and, reregistrations, and verifications of registration 

information received from persons required to do so. The Registry shall also include a 

separate indication that a person has been convicted of a sexually violent Tier 

III offense. The State Police shall forthwith transmit the appropriate information as 

required by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for inclusion in the National Sex 

Offender Registry. 

§ 9.1-912. Registry access and dissemination; fees. 

A. Except as provided in § 9.1-913 and subsection B or C of this section, Registry 

information shall be disseminated upon request made directly to the State Police or to 

the State Police through a local law-enforcement agency. Such information may be 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-64.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-64.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1:1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-472.1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-911
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disclosed to any person requesting information on a specific individual in accordance 

with subsection B. The State Police shall make Registry information available, upon 

request, to criminal justice agencies including local law-enforcement agencies through 

the Virginia Criminal Information Network (VCIN). Registry information provided 

under this section shall be used for the purposes of the administration of criminal 

justice, for the screening of current or prospective employees or volunteers or 

otherwise for the protection of the public in general and children in particular. The 

Superintendent of State Police may by regulation establish a fee not to exceed $15 for 

responding to requests for information from the Registry. Any fees collected shall be 

deposited in a special account to be used to offset the costs of administering the 

Registry. 

B. Information regarding a specific person shall be disseminated upon receipt of an 

official request form that may be submitted directly to the State Police or to the State 

Police through a local law-enforcement agency. The official request form shall 

include a statement of the reason for the request; the name and address of the person 

requesting the information; the name, address and, if known, the social security 

number of the person about whom information is sought; and such other information 

as the State Police may require to ensure reliable identification. 

C. Registry information regarding all registered offender's electronic mail address 

information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or 

identity information may be electronically transmitted by the Department of State 

Police to a business or organization that offers electronic communication or remote 

computing services for the purpose of prescreening users or for comparison with 

information held by the requesting business or organization. In order to obtain the 

information from the Department of State Police, the requesting business or 

organization that offers electronic communication or remote computing services shall 

agree to notify the Department of State Police forthwith when a comparison indicates 

that any such registered sex offender's electronic mail address information, any instant 

message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity information is being 

used on their system. The requesting business or organization shall also agree that the 

information will not be further disseminated. 

§ 9.1-913. Public dissemination by means of the Internet. 

The State Police shall develop and maintain a system for making certain Registry 

information on persons convicted of an offense for which registration is required 

publicly available by means of the Internet. The information to be made available 

shall include the offender's name; all aliases that he has used or under which he may 

have been known; the date and locality of the conviction and a brief description of the 

offense; his age, current address, and photograph; his current work address; the name 

of any institution of higher education at which he is currently enrolled; and such other 

information as the State Police may from time to time determine is necessary to 

preserve public safety, including but not limited to the fact that an individual is 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-913


31  

 

 

wanted for failing to register or, reregister, or verify his registration information. The 

system shall be secure and not capable of being altered except by the State Police. The 

system shall be updated each business day with newly received 

registrations and, reregistrations and verifications of registration information. The 

State Police shall remove all information that it knows to be inaccurate from the 

Internet system. 

§ 9.1-914. Automatic notification of registration to certain entities; electronic 

notification to requesting persons. 

Any school, day-care service and child-minding service, state-regulated or state-

licensed child day center, child day program, children's residential facility, family day 

home, assisted living facility or foster home as defined in § 63.2-100, nursing home or 

certified nursing facility as defined in § 32.1-123, association of a common interest 

community as defined in § 54.1-2345, and institution of higher education may request 

from the State Police and, upon compliance with the requirements therefor established 

by the State Police, shall be eligible to receive from the State Police electronic notice 

of the registration or, reregistration, or verification of registration information of 

any sex offender and if such entities do not have the capability of receiving such 

electronic notice, the entity may register with the State Police to receive written 

notification of sex offender registration or, reregistration, or verification of 

registration information. Within three business days of receipt by the State Police of 

registration or, reregistration, or verification of registration information, the State 

Police shall electronically or in writing notify an entity listed above that has requested 

such notification, has complied with the requirements established by the State Police 

and is located in the same or a contiguous zip code area as the address of the offender 

as shown on the registration. 

The Virginia Council for Private Education shall annually provide the State Police, in 

an electronic format approved by the State Police, with the location of every private 

school in the Commonwealth that is accredited through one of the approved 

accrediting agencies of the Council, and an electronic mail address for each school if 

available, for purposes of receiving notice under this section. 

Any person may request from the State Police and, upon compliance with the 

requirements therefor established by the State Police, shall be eligible to receive from 

the State Police electronic notice of the registration or, reregistration, or verification of 

registration information of any sex offender. Within three business days of receipt by 

the State Police of registration or, reregistration, or verification of registration 

information, the State Police shall electronically notify a person who has requested 

such notification, has complied with the requirements established by the State Police 

and is located in the same or a contiguous zip code area as the address of the offender 

as shown on the registration. 

The State Police shall establish reasonable guidelines governing the automatic 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-914
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dissemination of Registry information, which may include the payment of a fee, 

whether a one-time fee or a regular assessment, to maintain the electronic access. The 

fee, if any, shall defray the costs of establishing and maintaining the electronic 

notification system and notice by mail. 

For the purposes of this section: 

"Child-minding service" means provision of temporary custodial care or supervisory 

services for the minor child of another; 

"Day-care service" means provision of supplementary care and protection during a 

part of the day for the minor child of another; and 

"School" means any public, religious or private educational institution, including any 

preschool, elementary school, secondary school, post-secondary school, trade or 

professional institution, or institution of higher education. 

§ 9.1-918. Misuse of registry or supplement information; penalty. 

Use of registry information or information from the Supplement to the Registry 

established pursuant to § 9.1-923 for purposes not authorized by this chapter is 

prohibited, the unlawful use of the information contained in or derived from the 

Registry or Supplement for purposes of intimidating or harassing another is 

prohibited, and a willful violation of this chapter is a Class 1 misdemeanor. For 

purposes of this section, absent other aggravating circumstances, the mere 

republication or reasonable distribution of material contained on or derived from the 

publicly available Internet sex offender database shall not be deemed intimidation or 

harassment. 

§ 15.2-2283.1. Prohibition of sexual offender treatment office in residentially zoned 

subdivision. 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no individual shall knowingly provide 

sex offender treatment services to a convicted sex offender person required to register 

with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 

(§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 in an office or similar facility located in a residentially 

zoned subdivision. 

§ 16.1-228. Definitions. 

When used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

"Abused or neglected child" means any child: 

1. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care creates or inflicts, threatens 

to create or inflict, or allows to be created or inflicted upon such child a physical or 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-918
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mental injury by other than accidental means, or creates a substantial risk of death, 

disfigurement or impairment of bodily or mental functions, including, but not limited 

to, a child who is with his parent or other person responsible for his care either (i) 

during the manufacture or attempted manufacture of a Schedule I or II controlled 

substance, or (ii) during the unlawful sale of such substance by that child's parents or 

other person responsible for his care, where such manufacture, or attempted 

manufacture or unlawful sale would constitute a felony violation of § 18.2-248; 

2. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care neglects or refuses to 

provide care necessary for his health; however, no child who in good faith is under 

treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer in accordance with the tenets and 

practices of a recognized church or religious denomination shall for that reason alone 

be considered to be an abused or neglected child; 

3. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care abandons such child; 

4. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care commits or allows to be 

committed any sexual act upon a child in violation of the law; 

5. Who is without parental care or guardianship caused by the unreasonable absence 

or the mental or physical incapacity of the child's parent, guardian, legal custodian, or 

other person standing in loco parentis; 

6. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care creates a substantial risk of 

physical or mental injury by knowingly leaving the child alone in the same dwelling, 

including an apartment as defined in § 55.1-2000, with a person to whom the child is 

not related by blood or marriage and who the parent or other person responsible for 

his care knows has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration 

is required as a violent sexual Tier III offender pursuant to § 9.1-902; or 

7. Who has been identified as a victim of sex trafficking or severe forms of trafficking 

as defined in the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000, 22 U.S.C § 7102 et seq., 

and in the Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act of 2015, 42 U.S.C. § 5101 et seq. 

If a civil proceeding under this chapter is based solely on the parent having left the 

child at a hospital or emergency medical services agency, it shall be an affirmative 

defense that such parent safely delivered the child to a hospital that provides 24-hour 

emergency services or to an attended emergency medical services agency that 

employs emergency medical services personnel, within 14 days of the child's birth. 

For purposes of terminating parental rights pursuant to § 16.1-283 and placement for 

adoption, the court may find such a child is a neglected child upon the ground of 

abandonment. 

"Adoptive home" means the place of residence of any natural person in which a child 

resides as a member of the household and in which he has been placed for the 
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purposes of adoption or in which he has been legally adopted by another member of 

the household. 

"Adult" means a person 18 years of age or older. 

"Ancillary crime" or "ancillary charge" means any delinquent act committed by a 

juvenile as a part of the same act or transaction as, or which constitutes a part of a 

common scheme or plan with, a delinquent act which would be a felony if committed 

by an adult. 

"Boot camp" means a short term secure or nonsecure juvenile residential facility with 

highly structured components including, but not limited to, military style drill and 

ceremony, physical labor, education and rigid discipline, and no less than six months 

of intensive aftercare. 

"Child," "juvenile," or "minor" means a person less than 18 years of age. 

"Child in need of services" means (i) a child whose behavior, conduct or condition 

presents or results in a serious threat to the well-being and physical safety of the child 

or (ii) a child under the age of 14 whose behavior, conduct or condition presents or 

results in a serious threat to the well-being and physical safety of another person; 

however, no child who in good faith is under treatment solely by spiritual means 

through prayer in accordance with the tenets and practices of a recognized church or 

religious denomination shall for that reason alone be considered to be a child in need 

of services, nor shall any child who habitually remains away from or habitually 

deserts or abandons his family as a result of what the court or the local child 

protective services unit determines to be incidents of physical, emotional or sexual 

abuse in the home be considered a child in need of services for that reason alone. 

However, to find that a child falls within these provisions, (i) the conduct complained 

of must present a clear and substantial danger to the child's life or health or to the life 

or health of another person, (ii) the child or his family is in need of treatment, 

rehabilitation or services not presently being received, and (iii) the intervention of the 

court is essential to provide the treatment, rehabilitation or services needed by the 

child or his family. 

"Child in need of supervision" means: 

1. A child who, while subject to compulsory school attendance, is habitually and 

without justification absent from school, and (i) the child has been offered an adequate 

opportunity to receive the benefit of any and all educational services and programs 

that are required to be provided by law and which meet the child's particular 

educational needs, (ii) the school system from which the child is absent or other 

appropriate agency has made a reasonable effort to effect the child's regular 

attendance without success, and (iii) the school system has provided documentation 
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that it has complied with the provisions of § 22.1-258; or 

2. A child who, without reasonable cause and without the consent of his parent, lawful 

custodian or placement authority, remains away from or deserts or abandons his 

family or lawful custodian on more than one occasion or escapes or remains away 

without proper authority from a residential care facility in which he has been placed 

by the court, and (i) such conduct presents a clear and substantial danger to the child's 

life or health, (ii) the child or his family is in need of treatment, rehabilitation or 

services not presently being received, and (iii) the intervention of the court is essential 

to provide the treatment, rehabilitation or services needed by the child or his family. 

"Child welfare agency" means a child-placing agency, child-caring institution or 

independent foster home as defined in § 63.2-100. 

"The court" or the "juvenile court" or the "juvenile and domestic relations court" 

means the juvenile and domestic relations district court of each county or city. 

"Delinquent act" means (i) an act designated a crime under the law of the 

Commonwealth, or an ordinance of any city, county, town, or service district, or under 

federal law, (ii) a violation of § 18.2-308.7, or (iii) a violation of a court order as 

provided for in § 16.1-292, but shall not include an act other than a violation of § 18.2-

308.7, which is otherwise lawful, but is designated a crime only if committed by a 

child. For purposes of §§ 16.1-241 and 16.1-278.9, the term shall include a refusal to 

take a breath test in violation of § 18.2-268.2 or a similar ordinance of any county, city, 

or town. 

"Delinquent child" means a child who has committed a delinquent act or an adult who 

has committed a delinquent act prior to his 18th birthday, except where the 

jurisdiction of the juvenile court has been terminated under the provisions of § 16.1-

269.6. 

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice and "Director" means the 

administrative head in charge thereof or such of his assistants and subordinates as are 

designated by him to discharge the duties imposed upon him under this law. 

"Family abuse" means any act involving violence, force, or threat that results in 

bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death, sexual assault, or 

bodily injury and that is committed by a person against such person's family or 

household member. Such act includes, but is not limited to, any forceful detention, 

stalking, criminal sexual assault in violation of Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 

4 of Title 18.2, or any criminal offense that results in bodily injury or places one in 

reasonable apprehension of death, sexual assault, or bodily injury. 

"Family or household member" means (i) the person's spouse, whether or not he or 

she resides in the same home with the person, (ii) the person's former spouse, whether 
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or not he or she resides in the same home with the person, (iii) the person's parents, 

stepparents, children, stepchildren, brothers, sisters, half-brothers, half-sisters, 

grandparents and grandchildren, regardless of whether such persons reside in the same 

home with the person, (iv) the person's mother-in-law, father-in-law, sons-in-law, 

daughters-in-law, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law who reside in the same home 

with the person, (v) any individual who has a child in common with the person, 

whether or not the person and that individual have been married or have resided 

together at any time, or (vi) any individual who cohabits or who, within the previous 

12 months, cohabited with the person, and any children of either of them then residing 

in the same home with the person. 

"Fictive kin" means persons who are not related to a child by blood or adoption but 

have an established relationship with the child or his family. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of casework, treatment and 

community services for a planned period of time to a child who is abused or neglected 

as defined in § 63.2-100 or in need of services as defined in this section and his family 

when the child (i) has been identified as needing services to prevent or eliminate the 

need for foster care placement, (ii) has been placed through an agreement between the 

local board of social services or a public agency designated by the community policy 

and management team and the parents or guardians where legal custody remains with 

the parents or guardians, (iii) has been committed or entrusted to a local board of 

social services or child welfare agency, or (iv) has been placed under the supervisory 

responsibility of the local board pursuant to § 16.1-293. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of (i) a child at least 16 years of 

age who is in the custody of a local board or licensed child-placing agency by the 

local board or licensed child-placing agency or (ii) a child at least 16 years of age or a 

person between the ages of 18 and 21 who was committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Justice immediately prior to placement by the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, in a living arrangement in which such child or person does not have daily 

substitute parental supervision. 

"Independent living services" means services and activities provided to a child in 

foster care 14 years of age or older and who has been committed or entrusted to a 

local board of social services, child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

"Independent living services" may also mean services and activities provided to a 

person who (i) was in foster care on his 18th birthday and has not yet reached the age 

of 21 years; (ii) is between the ages of 18 and 21 and who, immediately prior to his 

commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was in the custody of a local board 

of social services; or (iii) is a child at least 16 years of age or a person between the 

ages of 18 and 21 who was committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice 

immediately prior to placement in an independent living arrangement. Such services 

shall include counseling, education, housing, employment, and money management 

skills development and access to essential documents and other appropriate services to 
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help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency. 

"Intake officer" means a juvenile probation officer appointed as such pursuant to the 

authority of this chapter. 

"Jail" or "other facility designed for the detention of adults" means a local or regional 

correctional facility as defined in § 53.1-1, except those facilities utilized on a 

temporary basis as a court holding cell for a child incident to a court hearing or as a 

temporary lock-up room or ward incident to the transfer of a child to a juvenile 

facility. 

"The judge" means the judge or the substitute judge of the juvenile and domestic 

relations district court of each county or city. 

"This law" or "the law" means the Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court 

Law embraced in this chapter. 

"Legal custody" means (i) a legal status created by court order which vests in a 

custodian the right to have physical custody of the child, to determine and redetermine 

where and with whom he shall live, the right and duty to protect, train and discipline 

him and to provide him with food, shelter, education and ordinary medical care, all 

subject to any residual parental rights and responsibilities or (ii) the legal status 

created by court order of joint custody as defined in § 20-107.2. 

"Permanent foster care placement" means the place of residence in which a child 

resides and in which he has been placed pursuant to the provisions of §§ 63.2-

900 and 63.2-908 with the expectation and agreement between the placing agency and 

the place of permanent foster care that the child shall remain in the placement until he 

reaches the age of majority unless modified by court order or unless removed pursuant 

to § 16.1-251 or 63.2-1517. A permanent foster care placement may be a place of 

residence of any natural person or persons deemed appropriate to meet a child's needs 

on a long-term basis. 

"Qualified individual" means a trained professional or licensed clinician who is not an 

employee of the local board of social services or licensed child-placing agency that 

placed the child in a qualified residential treatment program and is not affiliated with 

any placement setting in which children are placed by such local board of social 

services or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Qualified residential treatment program" means a program that (i) provides 24-hour 

residential placement services for children in foster care; (ii) has adopted a trauma-

informed treatment model that meets the clinical and other needs of children with 

serious emotional or behavioral disorders, including any clinical or other needs 

identified through assessments conducted pursuant to clause (viii) of this definition; 

(iii) employs registered or licensed nursing and other clinical staff who provide care, 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/53.1-1
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on site and within the scope of their practice, and are available 24 hours a day, 7 days 

a week; (iv) conducts outreach with the child's family members, including efforts to 

maintain connections between the child and his siblings and other family; documents 

and maintains records of such outreach efforts; and maintains contact information for 

any known biological family and fictive kin of the child; (v) whenever appropriate 

and in the best interest of the child, facilitates participation by family members in the 

child's treatment program before and after discharge and documents the manner in 

which such participation is facilitated; (vi) provides discharge planning and family-

based aftercare support for at least six months after discharge; (vii) is licensed in 

accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(10) and accredited by an organization approved 

by the federal Secretary of Health and Human Services; and (viii) requires that any 

child placed in the program receive an assessment within 30 days of such placement 

by a qualified individual that (a) assesses the strengths and needs of the child using an 

age-appropriate, evidence-based, validated, and functional assessment tool approved 

by the Commissioner of Social Services; (b) identifies whether the needs of the child 

can be met through placement with a family member or in a foster home or, if not, in a 

placement setting authorized by 42 U.S.C. § 672(k)(2), including a qualified 

residential treatment program, that would provide the most effective and appropriate 

level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment and be consistent with 

the short-term and long-term goals established for the child in his foster care or 

permanency plan; (c) establishes a list of short-term and long-term mental and 

behavioral health goals for the child; and (d) is documented in a written report to be 

filed with the court prior to any hearing on the child's placement pursuant to § 16.1-

281, 16.1-282, 16.1-282.1, or 16.1-282.2. 

"Residual parental rights and responsibilities" means all rights and responsibilities 

remaining with the parent after the transfer of legal custody or guardianship of the 

person, including but not limited to the right of visitation, consent to adoption, the 

right to determine religious affiliation and the responsibility for support. 

"Secure facility" or "detention home" means a local, regional or state public or private 

locked residential facility that has construction fixtures designed to prevent escape 

and to restrict the movement and activities of children held in lawful custody. 

"Shelter care" means the temporary care of children in physically unrestricting 

facilities. 

"State Board" means the State Board of Juvenile Justice. 

"Status offender" means a child who commits an act prohibited by law which would 

not be criminal if committed by an adult. 

"Status offense" means an act prohibited by law which would not be an offense if 

committed by an adult. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-281
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"Violent juvenile felony" means any of the delinquent acts enumerated in subsection 

B or C of § 16.1-269.1 when committed by a juvenile 14 years of age or older. 

§ 18.2-348.1. Promoting travel for prostitution; penalty. 

It is unlawful for any travel agent to knowingly promote travel services, as defined in 

§ 59.1-445, for the purposes of prostitution or any act in violation of an offense set 

forth in subdivision E 1 of the definition of Tier III offense as defined in § 9.1-902, 

made punishable within the Commonwealth, whether committed within or without. 

Violation of this section shall constitute a separate and distinct offense, and any 

person violating this section is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Punishment for a 

violation of this section shall be separate and apart from any punishment received 

from any other offense. For the purposes of this section "travel agent" means any 

person who for a consideration consults with or advises persons concerning travel 

services in the course of his business. 

§ 18.2-370.5. Offenses prohibiting entry onto school or other property; penalty. 

A. Every adult who is convicted of a sexually violent Tier III offense, as defined in 

§ 9.1-902, shall be prohibited from entering or being present (i) during school hours, 

and during school-related or school-sponsored activities upon any property he knows 

or has reason to know is a public or private elementary or secondary school or child 

day center property; (ii) on any school bus as defined in § 46.2-100; or (iii) upon any 

property, public or private, during hours when such property is solely being used by a 

public or private elementary or secondary school for a school-related or school-

sponsored activity. 

B. The provisions of clauses (i) and (iii) of subsection A shall not apply to such adult 

if (i) he is a lawfully registered and qualified voter, and is coming upon such property 

solely for purposes of casting his vote; (ii) he is a student enrolled at the school; or 

(iii) he has obtained a court order pursuant to subsection C allowing him to enter and 

be present upon such property, has obtained the permission of the school board or of 

the owner of the private school or child day center or their designee for entry within 

all or part of the scope of the lifted ban, and is in compliance with such school board's, 

school's or center's terms and conditions and those of the court order. 

C. Every adult who is prohibited from entering upon school or child day center 

property pursuant to subsection A may after notice to the attorney for the 

Commonwealth and either (i) the proprietor of the child day center, (ii) the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction and the chairman of the school board of the 

school division in which the school is located, or (iii) the chief administrator of the 

school if such school is not a public school, petition the circuit court in the county or 

city where the school or child day center is located for permission to enter such 

property. The court shall direct that the petitioner shall cause notice of the time and 

place of the hearing on his petition to be published once a week for two successive 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-269.1
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weeks in a newspaper meeting the requirements of § 8.01-324. The newspaper notice 

shall contain a provision stating that written comments regarding the petition may be 

submitted to the clerk of court at least five days prior to the hearing. For good cause 

shown, the court may issue an order permitting the petitioner to enter and be present 

on such property, subject to whatever restrictions of area, reasons for being present, or 

time limits the court deems appropriate. 

D. A violation of this section is punishable as a Class 6 felony. 

§ 18.2-472.1. Providing false information or failing to provide registration information; 

penalty; prima facie evidence. 

A. Any person subject to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, other than a person 

convicted of a sexually violent Tier III offense or murder as defined in § 9.1-902, who 

knowingly fails to register or, reregister, or verify his registration information, or who 

knowingly provides materially false information to the Sex Offender and Crimes 

Against Minors Registry is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent 

conviction for an offense under this subsection is a Class 6 felony. 

B. Any person convicted of a sexually violent Tier III offense or murder, as defined in 

§ 9.1-902, who knowingly fails to register or, reregister, or verify his registration 

information, or who knowingly provides materially false information to the Sex 

Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry is guilty of a Class 6 felony. A second 

or subsequent conviction for an offense under this subsection is a Class 5 felony. 

C. A prosecution pursuant to this section shall be brought in the city or county where 

the offender can be found or where the offender last registered or, reregistered, or 

verified his registration information or, if the offender failed to comply with the duty 

to register, where the offender was last convicted of an offense for which registration 

or reregistration is required. 

D. At any preliminary hearing pursuant to this section, an affidavit from the State 

Police issued as required in § 9.1-907 shall be admitted into evidence as prima facie 

evidence of the failure to comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his 

registration information. A copy of such affidavit shall be provided to the registrant or 

his counsel seven days prior to hearing or trial by the attorney for the Commonwealth. 

E. The accused in any preliminary hearing in which an affidavit from the State Police 

issued as required in § 9.1-907 is offered into evidence pursuant to this section shall 

have the right to summon and call a custodian of records issuing the affidavit and 

examine him in the same manner as if he had been called as an adverse witness. Such 

witness shall appear at the cost of the Commonwealth. 

F. At any trial or hearing other than a preliminary hearing conducted pursuant to this 

section, an affidavit from the State Police issued as required in § 9.1-907 shall 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-324
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constitute prima facie evidence of the failure to comply with the duty to 

register or, reregister, or verify his registration information, provided the requirements 

of subsection G have been satisfied and the accused has not objected to the admission 

of the affidavit pursuant to subsection H. 

G. If the attorney for the Commonwealth intends to offer the affidavit into evidence in 

lieu of testimony at a trial or hearing, other than a preliminary hearing, he shall: 

1. Provide by mail, delivery, or otherwise, a copy of the affidavit to counsel of record 

for the accused, or to the accused if he is proceeding pro se, at no charge, no later than 

28 days prior to the hearing or trial; 

2. Provide simultaneously with the copy of the affidavit so provided under subdivision 

1 a notice to the accused of his right to object to having the affidavit admitted without 

the presence and testimony of a custodian of the records; and 

3. File a copy of the affidavit and notice with the clerk of the court hearing the matter 

on the day that the affidavit and notice are provided to the accused. 

H. In any trial or hearing, other than a preliminary hearing, the accused may object in 

writing to admission of the affidavit, in lieu of testimony, as evidence of the facts 

stated therein. Such objection shall be filed with the court hearing the matter, with a 

copy to the attorney for the Commonwealth, no more than 14 days after the affidavit 

and notice were filed with the clerk by the attorney for the Commonwealth, or the 

objection shall be deemed waived. If timely objection is made, the affidavit shall not 

be admissible into evidence unless (i) the objection is waived by the accused or his 

counsel in writing or before the court, or (ii) the parties stipulate before the court to 

the admissibility of the affidavit. 

I. Where a custodian of the records is not available for hearing or trial and the attorney 

for the Commonwealth has used due diligence to secure the presence of the person, 

the court shall order a continuance. Any continuances ordered pursuant to this 

subsection shall total not more than 90 days if the accused has been held continuously 

in custody and not more than 180 days if the accused has not been held continuously 

in custody. 

J. Any objection by counsel for the accused, or the accused if he is proceeding pro se, 

to timeliness of the receipt of notice required by subsection G shall be made before 

hearing or trial upon his receipt of actual notice unless the accused did not receive 

actual notice prior to hearing or trial. A showing by the Commonwealth that the notice 

was mailed, delivered, or otherwise provided in compliance with the time 

requirements of this section shall constitute prima facie evidence that the notice was 

timely received by the accused. If the court finds upon the accused's objection made 

pursuant to this subsection, that he did not receive timely notice pursuant to 

subsection G, the accused's objection shall not be deemed waived and if the objection 
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is made prior to hearing or trial, a continuance shall be ordered if requested by either 

party. Any continuance ordered pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to the time 

limitations set forth in subsection I. 

K. For the purposes of this section any conviction for a substantially similar offense 

under the laws of (i) any foreign country or any political subdivision thereof, or (ii) 

any state or territory of the United States or any political subdivision thereof, the 

District of Columbia, or the United States shall be considered a prior conviction. 

§ 22.1-79. Powers and duties. 

A school board shall: 

1. See that the school laws are properly explained, enforced and observed; 

2. Secure, by visitation or otherwise, as full information as possible about the conduct 

of the public schools in the school division and take care that they are conducted 

according to law and with the utmost efficiency; 

3. Care for, manage and control the property of the school division and provide for the 

erecting, furnishing, equipping, and noninstructional operating of necessary school 

buildings and appurtenances and the maintenance thereof by purchase, lease, or other 

contracts; 

4. Provide for the consolidation of schools or redistricting of school boundaries or 

adopt pupil assignment plans whenever such procedure will contribute to the 

efficiency of the school division; 

5. Insofar as not inconsistent with state statutes and regulations of the Board of 

Education, operate and maintain the public schools in the school division and 

determine the length of the school term, the studies to be pursued, the methods of 

teaching and the government to be employed in the schools; 

6. In instances in which no grievance procedure has been adopted prior to January 1, 

1991, establish and administer by July 1, 1992, a grievance procedure for all school 

board employees, except the division superintendent and those employees covered 

under the provisions of Article 2 (§ 22.1-293 et seq.) and Article 3 (§ 22.1-306 et seq.) 

of Chapter 15 of this title, who have completed such probationary period as may be 

required by the school board, not to exceed 18 months. The grievance procedure shall 

afford a timely and fair method of the resolution of disputes arising between the 

school board and such employees regarding dismissal or other disciplinary actions, 

excluding suspensions, and shall be consistent with the provisions of the Board of 

Education's procedures for adjusting grievances. Except in the case of dismissal, 

suspension, or other disciplinary action, the grievance procedure prescribed by the 

Board of Education pursuant to § 22.1-308 shall apply to all full-time employees of a 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-79
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school board, except supervisory employees; 

7. Perform such other duties as shall be prescribed by the Board of Education or as are 

imposed by law; 

8. Obtain public comment through a public hearing not less than 10 days after 

reasonable notice to the public in a newspaper of general circulation in the school 

division prior to providing (i) for the consolidation of schools; (ii) the transfer from 

the public school system of the administration of all instructional services for any 

public school classroom or all noninstructional services in the school division 

pursuant to a contract with any private entity or organization; or (iii) in school 

divisions having 15,000 pupils or more in average daily membership, for redistricting 

of school boundaries or adopting any pupil assignment plan affecting the assignment 

of 15 percent or more of the pupils in average daily membership in the affected 

school. Such public hearing may be held at the same time and place as the meeting of 

the school board at which the proposed action is taken if the public hearing is held 

before the action is taken. If a public hearing has been held prior to the effective date 

of this provision on a proposed consolidation, redistricting or pupil assignment plan 

which is to be implemented after the effective date of this provision, an additional 

public hearing shall not be required; 

9. (Expires July 1, 2025) At least annually, survey the school division to identify 

critical shortages of teachers and administrative personnel by subject matter, and 

report such critical shortages to the Superintendent of Public Instruction and to the 

Virginia Retirement System; however, the school board may request the division 

superintendent to conduct such survey and submit such report to the school board, the 

Superintendent, and the Virginia Retirement System; and 

10. Ensure that the public schools within the school division are registered with the 

Department of State Police to receive from the State Police electronic notice of the 

registration or, reregistration, or verification of registration information of any sex 

offender person required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors 

Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 within that school 

division pursuant to § 9.1-914. 

§ 23.1-407. Reporting of enrollment information to Sex Offender and Crimes Against 

Minors Registry. 

A. Each associate-degree-granting and baccalaureate (i) public institution of higher 

education and (ii) private institution of higher education shall electronically transmit 

the complete name, social security number or other identifying number, date of birth, 

and gender of each applicant accepted to attend the institution to the Department of 

State Police, in a format approved by the Department of State Police, for comparison 

with information contained in the Virginia Criminal Information Network and 

National Crime Information Center Sex Offender Registry File. Such data shall be 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
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transmitted (a) before an accepted applicant becomes a student in attendance pursuant 

to 20 U.S.C. § 1232g(a)(6) or (b) in the case of institutions with a rolling or 

instantaneous admissions policy, in accordance with guidelines developed by the 

Department of State Police in consultation with the Council. 

B. Whenever it appears from the records of the Department of State Police that an 

accepted applicant has failed to comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or 

verify his registration information pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, 

the Department of State Police shall promptly investigate and, if there is probable 

cause to believe a violation has occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in obtaining an 

indictment charging a violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which the 

institution of higher education is located. 

§ 32.1-127. Regulations. 

A. The regulations promulgated by the Board to carry out the provisions of this article 

shall be in substantial conformity to the standards of health, hygiene, sanitation, 

construction and safety as established and recognized by medical and health care 

professionals and by specialists in matters of public health and safety, including health 

and safety standards established under provisions of Title XVIII and Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act, and to the provisions of Article 2 (§ 32.1-138 et seq.). 

B. Such regulations: 

1. Shall include minimum standards for (i) the construction and maintenance of 

hospitals, nursing homes and certified nursing facilities to ensure the environmental 

protection and the life safety of its patients, employees, and the public; (ii) the 

operation, staffing and equipping of hospitals, nursing homes and certified nursing 

facilities; (iii) qualifications and training of staff of hospitals, nursing homes and 

certified nursing facilities, except those professionals licensed or certified by the 

Department of Health Professions; (iv) conditions under which a hospital or nursing 

home may provide medical and nursing services to patients in their places of 

residence; and (v) policies related to infection prevention, disaster preparedness, and 

facility security of hospitals, nursing homes, and certified nursing facilities. For 

purposes of this paragraph, facilities in which five or more first trimester abortions per 

month are performed shall be classified as a category of "hospital"; 

2. Shall provide that at least one physician who is licensed to practice medicine in this 

Commonwealth shall be on call at all times, though not necessarily physically present 

on the premises, at each hospital which operates or holds itself out as operating an 

emergency service; 

3. May classify hospitals and nursing homes by type of specialty or service and may 

provide for licensing hospitals and nursing homes by bed capacity and by type of 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
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specialty or service; 

4. Shall also require that each hospital establish a protocol for organ donation, in 

compliance with federal law and the regulations of the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), particularly 42 C.F.R. § 482.45. Each hospital shall have 

an agreement with an organ procurement organization designated in CMS regulations 

for routine contact, whereby the provider's designated organ procurement organization 

certified by CMS (i) is notified in a timely manner of all deaths or imminent deaths of 

patients in the hospital and (ii) is authorized to determine the suitability of the 

decedent or patient for organ donation and, in the absence of a similar arrangement 

with any eye bank or tissue bank in Virginia certified by the Eye Bank Association of 

America or the American Association of Tissue Banks, the suitability for tissue and 

eye donation. The hospital shall also have an agreement with at least one tissue bank 

and at least one eye bank to cooperate in the retrieval, processing, preservation, 

storage, and distribution of tissues and eyes to ensure that all usable tissues and eyes 

are obtained from potential donors and to avoid interference with organ procurement. 

The protocol shall ensure that the hospital collaborates with the designated organ 

procurement organization to inform the family of each potential donor of the option to 

donate organs, tissues, or eyes or to decline to donate. The individual making contact 

with the family shall have completed a course in the methodology for approaching 

potential donor families and requesting organ or tissue donation that (a) is offered or 

approved by the organ procurement organization and designed in conjunction with the 

tissue and eye bank community and (b) encourages discretion and sensitivity 

according to the specific circumstances, views, and beliefs of the relevant family. In 

addition, the hospital shall work cooperatively with the designated organ procurement 

organization in educating the staff responsible for contacting the organ procurement 

organization's personnel on donation issues, the proper review of death records to 

improve identification of potential donors, and the proper procedures for maintaining 

potential donors while necessary testing and placement of potential donated organs, 

tissues, and eyes takes place. This process shall be followed, without exception, unless 

the family of the relevant decedent or patient has expressed opposition to organ 

donation, the chief administrative officer of the hospital or his designee knows of such 

opposition, and no donor card or other relevant document, such as an advance 

directive, can be found; 

5. Shall require that each hospital that provides obstetrical services establish a 

protocol for admission or transfer of any pregnant woman who presents herself while 

in labor; 

6. Shall also require that each licensed hospital develop and implement a protocol 

requiring written discharge plans for identified, substance-abusing, postpartum 

women and their infants. The protocol shall require that the discharge plan be 

discussed with the patient and that appropriate referrals for the mother and the infant 

be made and documented. Appropriate referrals may include, but need not be limited 

to, treatment services, comprehensive early intervention services for infants and 
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toddlers with disabilities and their families pursuant to Part H of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. § 1471 et seq., and family-oriented prevention 

services. The discharge planning process shall involve, to the extent possible, the 

father of the infant and any members of the patient's extended family who may 

participate in the follow-up care for the mother and the infant. Immediately upon 

identification, pursuant to § 54.1-2403.1, of any substance-abusing, postpartum woman, 

the hospital shall notify, subject to federal law restrictions, the community services 

board of the jurisdiction in which the woman resides to appoint a discharge plan 

manager. The community services board shall implement and manage the discharge 

plan; 

7. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility fully disclose to 

the applicant for admission the home's or facility's admissions policies, including any 

preferences given; 

8. Shall require that each licensed hospital establish a protocol relating to the rights 

and responsibilities of patients which shall include a process reasonably designed to 

inform patients of such rights and responsibilities. Such rights and responsibilities of 

patients, a copy of which shall be given to patients on admission, shall be consistent 

with applicable federal law and regulations of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services; 

9. Shall establish standards and maintain a process for designation of levels or 

categories of care in neonatal services according to an applicable national or state-

developed evaluation system. Such standards may be differentiated for various levels 

or categories of care and may include, but need not be limited to, requirements for 

staffing credentials, staff/patient ratios, equipment, and medical protocols; 

10. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility train all 

employees who are mandated to report adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation pursuant 

to § 63.2-1606 on such reporting procedures and the consequences for failing to make a 

required report; 

11. Shall permit hospital personnel, as designated in medical staff bylaws, rules and 

regulations, or hospital policies and procedures, to accept emergency telephone and 

other verbal orders for medication or treatment for hospital patients from physicians, 

and other persons lawfully authorized by state statute to give patient orders, subject to 

a requirement that such verbal order be signed, within a reasonable period of time not 

to exceed 72 hours as specified in the hospital's medical staff bylaws, rules and 

regulations or hospital policies and procedures, by the person giving the order, or, 

when such person is not available within the period of time specified, co-signed by 

another physician or other person authorized to give the order; 

12. Shall require, unless the vaccination is medically contraindicated or the resident 

declines the offer of the vaccination, that each certified nursing facility and nursing 
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home provide or arrange for the administration to its residents of (i) an annual 

vaccination against influenza and (ii) a pneumococcal vaccination, in accordance with 

the most recent recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 

13. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility register with the 

Department of State Police to receive notice of the registration or, reregistration, or 

verification of registration information of any sex offender person required to register 

with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 

(§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 within the same or a contiguous zip code area in which 

the home or facility is located, pursuant to § 9.1-914; 

14. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility ascertain, prior 

to admission, whether a potential patient is a registered sex offender required to 

register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, if the home or facility anticipates the 

potential patient will have a length of stay greater than three days or in fact stays 

longer than three days; 

15. Shall require that each licensed hospital include in its visitation policy a provision 

allowing each adult patient to receive visits from any individual from whom the 

patient desires to receive visits, subject to other restrictions contained in the visitation 

policy including, but not limited to, those related to the patient's medical condition 

and the number of visitors permitted in the patient's room simultaneously; 

16. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility shall, upon the 

request of the facility's family council, send notices and information about the family 

council mutually developed by the family council and the administration of the 

nursing home or certified nursing facility, and provided to the facility for such 

purpose, to the listed responsible party or a contact person of the resident's choice up 

to six times per year. Such notices may be included together with a monthly billing 

statement or other regular communication. Notices and information shall also be 

posted in a designated location within the nursing home or certified nursing facility. 

No family member of a resident or other resident representative shall be restricted 

from participating in meetings in the facility with the families or resident 

representatives of other residents in the facility; 

17. Shall require that each nursing home and certified nursing facility maintain 

liability insurance coverage in a minimum amount of $1 million, and professional 

liability coverage in an amount at least equal to the recovery limit set forth in § 8.01-

581.15, to compensate patients or individuals for injuries and losses resulting from the 

negligent or criminal acts of the facility. Failure to maintain such minimum insurance 

shall result in revocation of the facility's license; 

18. Shall require each hospital that provides obstetrical services to establish policies to 
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follow when a stillbirth, as defined in § 32.1-69.1, occurs that meet the guidelines 

pertaining to counseling patients and their families and other aspects of managing 

stillbirths as may be specified by the Board in its regulations; 

19. Shall require each nursing home to provide a full refund of any unexpended 

patient funds on deposit with the facility following the discharge or death of a patient, 

other than entrance-related fees paid to a continuing care provider as defined in § 38.2-

4900, within 30 days of a written request for such funds by the discharged patient or, 

in the case of the death of a patient, the person administering the person's estate in 

accordance with the Virginia Small Estates Act (§ 64.2-600 et seq.); 

20. Shall require that each hospital that provides inpatient psychiatric services 

establish a protocol that requires, for any refusal to admit (i) a medically stable patient 

referred to its psychiatric unit, direct verbal communication between the on-call 

physician in the psychiatric unit and the referring physician, if requested by such 

referring physician, and prohibits on-call physicians or other hospital staff from 

refusing a request for such direct verbal communication by a referring physician and 

(ii) a patient for whom there is a question regarding the medical stability or medical 

appropriateness of admission for inpatient psychiatric services due to a situation 

involving results of a toxicology screening, the on-call physician in the psychiatric 

unit to which the patient is sought to be transferred to participate in direct verbal 

communication, either in person or via telephone, with a clinical toxicologist or other 

person who is a Certified Specialist in Poison Information employed by a poison 

control center that is accredited by the American Association of Poison Control 

Centers to review the results of the toxicology screen and determine whether a 

medical reason for refusing admission to the psychiatric unit related to the results of 

the toxicology screen exists, if requested by the referring physician; 

21. Shall require that each hospital that is equipped to provide life-sustaining 

treatment shall develop a policy governing determination of the medical and ethical 

appropriateness of proposed medical care, which shall include (i) a process for 

obtaining a second opinion regarding the medical and ethical appropriateness of 

proposed medical care in cases in which a physician has determined proposed care to 

be medically or ethically inappropriate; (ii) provisions for review of the determination 

that proposed medical care is medically or ethically inappropriate by an 

interdisciplinary medical review committee and a determination by the 

interdisciplinary medical review committee regarding the medical and ethical 

appropriateness of the proposed health care; and (iii) requirements for a written 

explanation of the decision reached by the interdisciplinary medical review 

committee, which shall be included in the patient's medical record. Such policy shall 

ensure that the patient, his agent, or the person authorized to make medical decisions 

pursuant to § 54.1-2986 (a) are informed of the patient's right to obtain his medical 

record and to obtain an independent medical opinion and (b) afforded reasonable 

opportunity to participate in the medical review committee meeting. Nothing in such 

policy shall prevent the patient, his agent, or the person authorized to make medical 
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decisions pursuant to § 54.1-2986 from obtaining legal counsel to represent the patient 

or from seeking other remedies available at law, including seeking court review, 

provided that the patient, his agent, or the person authorized to make medical 

decisions pursuant to § 54.1-2986, or legal counsel provides written notice to the chief 

executive officer of the hospital within 14 days of the date on which the physician's 

determination that proposed medical treatment is medically or ethically inappropriate 

is documented in the patient's medical record; 

22. Shall require every hospital with an emergency department to establish protocols 

to ensure that security personnel of the emergency department, if any, receive training 

appropriate to the populations served by the emergency department, which may 

include training based on a trauma-informed approach in identifying and safely 

addressing situations involving patients or other persons who pose a risk of harm to 

themselves or others due to mental illness or substance abuse or who are experiencing 

a mental health crisis; 

23. Shall require that each hospital establish a protocol requiring that, before a health 

care provider arranges for air medical transportation services for a patient who does 

not have an emergency medical condition as defined in 42 U.S.C. § 1395dd(e)(1), the 

hospital shall provide the patient or his authorized representative with written or 

electronic notice that the patient (i) may have a choice of transportation by an air 

medical transportation provider or medically appropriate ground transportation by an 

emergency medical services provider and (ii) will be responsible for charges incurred 

for such transportation in the event that the provider is not a contracted network 

provider of the patient's health insurance carrier or such charges are not otherwise 

covered in full or in part by the patient's health insurance plan; and 

24. Shall establish an exemption, for a period of no more than 30 days, from the 

requirement to obtain a license to add temporary beds in an existing hospital or 

nursing home when the Commissioner has determined that a natural or man-made 

disaster has caused the evacuation of a hospital or nursing home and that a public 

health emergency exists due to a shortage of hospital or nursing home beds. 

C. Upon obtaining the appropriate license, if applicable, licensed hospitals, nursing 

homes, and certified nursing facilities may operate adult day care centers. 

D. All facilities licensed by the Board pursuant to this article which provide treatment 

or care for hemophiliacs and, in the course of such treatment, stock clotting factors, 

shall maintain records of all lot numbers or other unique identifiers for such clotting 

factors in order that, in the event the lot is found to be contaminated with an infectious 

agent, those hemophiliacs who have received units of this contaminated clotting factor 

may be apprised of this contamination. Facilities which have identified a lot which is 

known to be contaminated shall notify the recipient's attending physician and request 

that he notify the recipient of the contamination. If the physician is unavailable, the 

facility shall notify by mail, return receipt requested, each recipient who received 
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treatment from a known contaminated lot at the individual's last known address. 

§ 46.2-116. Registration with Department of Criminal Justice Services required for tow 

truck drivers; penalty. 

A. As used in this section and §§ 46.2-117, 46.2-118, and 46.2-119: 

"Consumer" means a person who (i) has vested ownership, dominion, or title to the 

vehicle; (ii) is the authorized agent of the owner as defined in clause (i); or (iii) is an 

employee, agent, or representative of an insurance company representing any party 

involved in a collision that resulted in a police-requested tow who represents in 

writing that the insurance company had obtained the oral or written consent of the title 

owner or his agent or the lessee of the vehicle to obtain possession of the vehicle. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice Services. 

"Tow truck driver" means an individual who drives a tow truck as defined in § 46.2-

100. 

"Towing and recovery operator" means any person engaging in the business of 

providing or offering to provide services involving the use of a tow truck and services 

incidental to use of a tow truck. "Towing and recovery operator" shall not include a 

franchised motor vehicle dealer as defined in § 46.2-1500 using a tow truck owned by a 

dealer when transporting a vehicle to or from a repair facility owned by the dealer 

when the dealer does not receive compensation from the vehicle owner for towing of 

the vehicle or when transporting a vehicle in which the dealer has an ownership or 

security interest. 

B. On and after January 1, 2013, no tow truck driver shall drive any tow truck without 

being registered with the Department, except that this requirement shall not apply to 

any holder of a tow truck driver authorization document issued pursuant to former 

§ 46.2-2814 until the expiration date of such document. The Department may offer a 

temporary registration or driver authorization document that is effective upon the 

submission of an application and that expires upon the issuance or denial of a 

permanent registration. Every applicant for an initial registration or renewal of 

registration pursuant to this section shall submit his registration application, 

fingerprints, and personal descriptive information to the Department and a 

nonrefundable application fee of $100. The Department shall forward the personal 

descriptive information along with the applicant's fingerprints through the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of 

obtaining a national criminal history record check regarding such applicant. The cost 

of the fingerprinting and criminal history record check shall be paid by the applicant. 

The Central Criminal Records Exchange, upon receipt of an applicant's record or 

notification that no record exists, shall make a report to the Department. If an 
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applicant is denied registration as a tow truck driver because of the information 

appearing in his criminal history record, the Department shall notify the applicant that 

information obtained from the Central Criminal Records Exchange contributed to 

such denial. The information shall not be disseminated except as provided in this 

section. 

C. No registration shall be issued to any person who (i) is required to register as a sex 

offender as provided in § 9.1-901 with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors 

Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 or in a substantially 

similar law of any other state, the United States, or any foreign jurisdiction; (ii) has 

been convicted of a violent crime as defined in subsection C of § 17.1-805 unless such 

person held a valid tow truck driver authorization document on January 1, 2013, 

issued by the Board of Towing and Recovery Operators pursuant to former Chapter 

28 (§ 46.2-2800 et seq.), and has not been convicted of a violent crime as defined in 

subsection C of § 17.1-805 subsequent to the abolition of the Board; or (iii) has been 

convicted of any crime involving the driving of a tow truck, including drug or alcohol 

offenses, but not traffic infraction convictions. Any person registered pursuant to this 

section shall report to the Department within 10 days of conviction any convictions 

for felonies or misdemeanors that occur while he is registered with the Department. 

D. Any tow truck driver failing to register with the Department as required by this 

section is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. A tow truck driver registered with the 

Department shall have such registration in his possession whenever driving a tow 

truck on the highways. 

E. Registrations issued by the Department pursuant to this section shall be valid for a 

period not to exceed 24 months, unless revoked or suspended by the Department in 

accordance with § 46.2-117. 

§ 46.2-117. Revocation and suspension of registration of tow truck driver; notice and 

hearing; assessment of costs. 

A. Upon receipt of written notice from the Division of Consumer Counsel of the 

Office of the Attorney General that it has obtained a civil judgment against a tow 

truck driver for a violation of subsection A of § 46.2-118 or § 46.2-1217, 46.2-1231, 

or 46.2-1233.1 or upon the failure of a tow truck driver to report to the Department 

within 10 days any conviction for a felony or misdemeanor that occurred while he is 

registered in accordance with § 46.2-116, the Department may revoke or suspend the 

registration of a tow truck driver after notice and hearing as provided in subsection C. 

B. Furthermore, the Department shall, after notice and hearing as provided in 

subsection C, revoke or suspend the registration of a tow truck driver for: 

1. Conviction of any crime for which a person must register as a sex offender as 

provided in § 9.1-901 with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 
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pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 or in a substantially similar law of 

any other state, the United States, or any foreign jurisdiction; 

2. Conviction of a violent crime as defined in subsection C of § 17.1-805; or 

3. Conviction of any crime involving the driving of a tow truck, including drug or 

alcohol offenses, but not traffic infraction convictions. 

C. Before suspending or revoking any registration, reasonable notice of such proposed 

action shall be given to the tow truck driver by the Department in accordance with the 

provisions of § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative Process Act. In suspending or revoking 

the registration of a tow truck driver, the Department may assess the tow truck driver 

the cost of conducting the hearing unless the Department determines that the violation 

was inadvertent or done in a good faith belief that such act did not violate a statute. 

Any costs assessed by the Department shall be limited to (i) the reasonable hourly rate 

of the hearing officer and (ii) the actual cost of recording the hearing. 

§ 46.2-118. Prohibited acts by tow truck drivers and towing and recovery operators. 

A. No tow truck driver shall: 

1. Use fraud or deceit in the offering or delivering of towing and recovery services; 

2. Conduct his business or offer services in such a manner as to endanger the health 

and welfare of the public; 

3. Use alcohol or drugs to the extent such use renders him unsafe to provide towing 

and recovery services; 

4. Obtain any fee by fraud or misrepresentation; 

5. Remove or tow a trespassing vehicle, as provided in § 46.2-1231, or a vehicle towed 

or removed at the request of a law-enforcement officer to any location outside the 

Commonwealth; or 

6. Violate, or assist, induce, or cooperate with others to violate, any provision of law 

related to the offering or delivery of towing and recovery services. 

B. No towing and recovery operator shall: 

1. Use fraud or deceit in the offering or delivering of towing and recovery services; 

2. Conduct his business or offer services in such a manner as to endanger the health 

and welfare of the public; 

3. Use alcohol or drugs to the extent such use renders him unsafe to provide towing 
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and recovery services; 

4. Neglect to maintain on record at the towing and recovery operator's principal office 

a list of all drivers employed by the towing and recovery operator; 

5. Obtain any fee by fraud or misrepresentation; 

6. Advertise services in any manner that deceives, misleads, or defrauds the public; 

7. Advertise or offer services under a name other than one's own name; 

8. Fail to accept for payment cash, insurance company check, certified check, money 

order, or at least one of two commonly used, nationally recognized credit cards, 

except those towing and recovery operators who have an annual gross income of less 

than $10,000 derived from the performance of towing and recovery services shall not 

be required to accept credit cards, other than when providing police-requested towing 

as defined in § 46.2-1217, but shall be required to accept personal checks; 

9. Fail to display at the towing and recovery operator's principal office in a 

conspicuous place a listing of all towing, recovery, and processing fees for vehicles; 

10. Fail to have readily available at the towing and recovery operator's principal 

office, at the customer's request, the maximum fees normally charged by the towing 

and recovery operator for basic services for towing and initial hookup of vehicles; 

11. Knowingly charge excessive fees for towing, storage, or administrative services or 

charge fees for services not rendered; 

12. Fail to maintain all towing records, which shall include itemized fees, for a period 

of one year from the date of service; 

13. Willfully invoice payment for any services not stipulated or otherwise 

incorporated in a contract for services rendered between the towing and recovery 

operator and any locality or political subdivision of the Commonwealth; 

14. Employ a driver required to register as a sex offender as provided in § 9.1-901 with 

the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-

900 et seq.) of Title 9.1; 

15. Remove or tow a trespassing vehicle, as provided in § 46.2-1231, or a vehicle 

towed or removed at the request of a law-enforcement officer to any location outside 

the Commonwealth; 

16. Refuse, at the towing and recovery operator's place of business, to make change, 

up to $100, for the owner of the vehicle towed without the owner's consent if the 
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owner pays in cash for charges for towing and storage of the vehicle; 

17. Violate, or assist, induce, or cooperate with others to violate, any provision of law 

related to the offering or delivery of towing and recovery services; or 

18. Fail to provide the owner of a stolen vehicle written notice of his right under law 

to be reimbursed for towing and storage of his vehicle out of the state treasury from 

the appropriation for criminal charges as required in § 46.2-1209. 

C. No tow truck driver as defined in § 46.2-116 or towing and recovery operator as 

defined in § 46.2-100 shall knowingly permit another person to occupy a motor vehicle 

as defined in § 46.2-100 while such motor vehicle is being towed. 

§ 46.2-323. Application for driver's license; proof of completion of driver education 

program; penalty. 

A. Every application for a driver's license, temporary driver's permit, learner's permit, 

or motorcycle learner's permit shall be made on a form prescribed by the Department 

and the applicant shall write his usual signature in ink in the space provided on the 

form. The form shall include notice to the applicant of the duty to register with the 

Department of State Police as provided in Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, if 

the applicant has been convicted of an offense for which registration with the Sex 

Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry is required. 

B. Every application shall state the full legal name, year, month, and date of birth, 

social security number, sex, and residence address of the applicant; whether or not the 

applicant has previously been licensed as a driver and, if so, when and by what state, 

and whether or not his license has ever been suspended or revoked and, if so, the date 

of and reason for such suspension or revocation. The Department, as a condition for 

the issuance of any driver's license, temporary driver's permit, learner's permit, or 

motorcycle learner's permit shall require the surrender of any driver's license or, in the 

case of a motorcycle learner's permit, a motorcycle license issued by another state and 

held by the applicant. The applicant shall also answer any questions on the application 

form or otherwise propounded by the Department incidental to the examination. The 

applicant may also be required to present proof of identity, residency, and social 

security number or non-work authorized status, if required to appear in person before 

the Department to apply. 

The Commissioner shall require that each application include a certification statement 

to be signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury, certifying that the information 

presented on the application is true and correct. 

If the applicant fails or refuses to sign the certification statement, the Department shall 

not issue the applicant a driver's license, temporary driver's permit, learner's permit or 

motorcycle learner's permit. 
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Any applicant who knowingly makes a false certification or supplies false or fictitious 

evidence shall be punished as provided in § 46.2-348. 

C. Every application for a driver's license shall include a photograph of the applicant 

supplied under arrangements made by the Department. The photograph shall be 

processed by the Department so that the photograph can be made part of the issued 

license. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 46.2-334, every applicant for a driver's license 

who is under 18 years of age shall furnish the Department with satisfactory proof of 

his successful completion of a driver education program approved by the State 

Department of Education. 

E. Every application for a driver's license submitted by a person less than 18 years old 

and attending a public school in the Commonwealth shall be accompanied by a 

document, signed by the applicant's parent or legal guardian, authorizing the principal, 

or his designee, of the school attended by the applicant to notify the juvenile and 

domestic relations district court within whose jurisdiction the minor resides when the 

applicant has had 10 or more unexcused absences from school on consecutive school 

days. 

F. The Department shall electronically transmit application information to the 

Department of State Police, in a format approved by the State Police, for comparison 

with information contained in the Virginia Criminal Information Network and 

National Crime Information Center Convicted Sexual Offender Registry Files, at the 

time of issuance of a driver's license, temporary driver's permit, learner's permit, or 

motorcycle learner's permit. Whenever it appears from the records of the State Police 

that a person has failed to comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his 

registration information pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, the State 

Police shall promptly investigate and, if there is probable cause to believe a violation 

has occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in obtaining an indictment charging a violation 

of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which the person made application of licensure. 

§ 46.2-324. Applicants and license holders to notify Department of change of address; 

fee. 

A. Whenever any person, after applying for or obtaining a driver's license or special 

identification card shall move from the address shown in the application or on the 

license or special identification card, he shall, within 30 days, notify the Department 

of his change of address. If the Department receives notification from the person or 

any court or law-enforcement agency that a person's residential address has changed 

to a non-Virginia address, unless the person (i) is on active duty with the armed forces 

of the United States, (ii) provides proof that he is a U.S. citizen and resides outside the 

United States because of his employment or the employment of a spouse or parent, or 

(iii) provides proof satisfactory to the Commissioner that he is a bona fide resident of 
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Virginia, the Department shall (i) mail, by first-class mail, no later than three days 

after the notice of address change is received by the Department, notice to the person 

that his license and/or special identification card will be cancelled by the Department 

and (ii) cancel the driver's license and/or special identification card 30 days after 

notice of cancellation has been mailed. 

B. The Department may contract with the United States Postal Service or an 

authorized agent to use the National Change of Address System for the purpose of 

obtaining current address information for a person whose name appears in customer 

records maintained by the Department. If the Department receives information from 

the National Change of Address System indicating that a person whose name appears 

in a Department record has submitted a permanent change of address to the Postal 

Service, the Department may then update its records with the mailing address 

obtained from the National Change of Address System. 

C. There may be imposed upon anyone failing to notify the Department of his change 

of address as required by this section a fee of $5, which fee shall be used to defray the 

expenses incurred by the Department. Notwithstanding the foregoing provision of this 

subsection, no fee shall be imposed on any person whose address is obtained from the 

National Change of Address System. 

D. The Department shall electronically transmit change of address information to the 

Department of State Police, in a format approved by the State Police, for comparison 

with information contained in the Virginia Criminal Information Network and 

National Crime Information Center Convicted Sexual Offender Registry Files, at the 

time of the change of address. Whenever it appears from the records of the State 

Police that a person has failed to comply with the duty to register or, reregister, or 

verify his registration information pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, 

the State Police shall promptly investigate and, if there is probable cause to believe a 

violation has occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in obtaining an indictment charging a 

violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which the person last 

registered or, reregistered, or verified his registration information or in the 

jurisdiction where the person made application for change of address. 

E. For any summons issued for a violation of this section, the court may, in its 

discretion, dismiss the summons, where proof of compliance with this section is 

provided to the court on or before the court date. 

§ 46.2-330. Expiration and renewal of licenses; examinations required. 

A. Every driver's license shall expire on the applicant's birthday at the end of the 

period of years for which a driver's license has been issued. At no time shall any 

driver's license be issued for more than eight years or less than five years, unless 

otherwise provided by law. Thereafter the driver's license shall be renewed on or 

before the birthday of the licensee and shall be valid for a period not to exceed eight 
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years except as otherwise provided by law. Any driver's license issued to a person age 

75 or older shall be issued for a period not to exceed five years. Notwithstanding these 

limitations, the Commissioner may extend the validity period of an expiring license if 

(i) the Department is unable to process an application for renewal due to 

circumstances beyond its control, (ii) the extension has been authorized under a 

directive from the Governor, and (iii) the license was not issued as a temporary 

driver's license under the provisions of subsection B of § 46.2-328.1. However, in no 

event shall the validity period be extended more than 90 days per occurrence of such 

conditions. In determining the number of years for which a driver's license shall be 

renewed, the Commissioner shall take into consideration the examinations, conditions, 

requirements, and other criteria provided under this title that relate to the issuance of a 

license to operate a vehicle. Any driver's license issued to a person required to register 

pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 shall expire on the applicant's 

birthday in years which the applicant attains an age equally divisible by five. 

B. Within one year prior to the date shown on the driver's license as the date of 

expiration, the Department shall send notice, to the holder thereof, at the address 

shown on the records of the Department in its driver's license file, that his license will 

expire on a date specified therein, whether he must be reexamined, and when he may 

be reexamined. Nonreceipt of the notice shall not extend the period of validity of the 

driver's license beyond its expiration date. The license holder may request the 

Department to send such renewal notice to an email or other electronic address, upon 

provision of such address to the Department. 

Any driver's license may be renewed by application after the applicant has taken and 

successfully completed those parts of the examination provided for in §§ 46.2-

311, 46.2-325, and the Virginia Commercial Driver's License Act (§ 46.2-341.1 et seq.), 

including vision and written tests, other than the parts of the examination requiring the 

applicant to drive a motor vehicle. All drivers applying in person for renewal of a 

license shall take and successfully complete the examination each renewal year. Every 

applicant for a renewal shall appear in person before the Department, unless 

specifically notified by the Department that renewal may be accomplished in another 

manner as provided in the notice. Applicants who are required to appear in person 

before the Department to apply for a renewal may also be required to present proof of 

identity, legal presence, residency, and social security number or non-work authorized 

status. 

C. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the Commissioner, in his 

discretion, may require any applicant for renewal to be fully examined as provided in 

§§ 46.2-311 and 46.2-325 and the Virginia Commercial Driver's License Act (§ 46.2-

341.1 et seq.). Furthermore, if the applicant is less than 75 years old, the Commissioner 

may waive the vision examination for any applicant for renewal of a driver's license 

that is not a commercial driver's license and the requirement for the taking of the 

written test as provided in subsection B of this section, § 46.2-325, and the Virginia 

Commercial Driver's License Act (§ 46.2-341.1 et seq.). However, in no case shall 
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there be any waiver of the vision examination for applicants for renewal of a 

commercial driver's license or of the knowledge test required by the Virginia 

Commercial Driver's License Act for the hazardous materials endorsement on a 

commercial driver's license. No driver's license or learner's permit issued to any 

person who is 75 years old or older shall be renewed unless the applicant for renewal 

appears in person and either (i) passes a vision examination or (ii) presents a report of 

a vision examination, made within 90 days prior thereto by an ophthalmologist or 

optometrist, indicating that the applicant's vision meets or exceeds the standards 

contained in § 46.2-311. 

D. Every applicant for renewal of a driver's license, whether renewal shall or shall not 

be dependent on any examination of the applicant, shall appear in person before the 

Department to apply for renewal, unless specifically notified by the Department that 

renewal may be accomplished in another manner as provided in the notice. 

E. This section shall not modify the provisions of § 46.2-221.2. 

F. 1. The Department shall electronically transmit application information, including a 

photograph, to the Department of State Police, in a format approved by the State 

Police, for comparison with information contained in the Virginia Criminal 

Information Network and National Crime Information Center Convicted Sexual 

Offender Registry files, at the time of the renewal of a driver's license. Whenever it 

appears from the records of the State Police that a person has failed to comply with 

the duty to register or, reregister, or verify his registration information pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, the State Police shall promptly investigate 

and, if there is probable cause to believe a violation has occurred, obtain a warrant or 

assist in obtaining an indictment charging a violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction 

in which the person last registered or, reregistered, or verified his registration 

information or in the jurisdiction where the person made application for licensure. The 

Department of State Police shall electronically transmit to the Department, in a format 

approved by the Department, for each person required to register pursuant to Chapter 

9 of Title 9.1, registry information consisting of the person's name, all aliases that he 

has used or under which he may have been known, his date of birth, and his social 

security number as set out in § 9.1-903. 

2. For each person required to register pursuant to Chapter 9 of Title 9.1, the 

Department may not waive the requirement that each such person shall appear for 

each renewal or the requirement to obtain a photograph in accordance with subsection 

C of § 46.2-323. 

§ 46.2-345. Issuance of special identification cards; fee; confidentiality; penalties. 

A. On the application of any person who is a resident of the Commonwealth or the 

parent or legal guardian of any such person who is under the age of 15, the 
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Department shall issue a special identification card to the person, provided that: 

1. Application is made on a form prescribed by the Department and includes the 

applicant's full legal name; year, month, and date of birth; social security number; sex; 

and residence address; 

2. The applicant presents, when required by the Department, proof of identity, legal 

presence, residency, and social security number or non-work authorized status; 

3. The Department is satisfied that the applicant needs an identification card or the 

applicant shows he has a bona fide need for such a card; and 

4. The applicant does not hold a driver's license, commercial driver's license, 

temporary driver's permit, learner's permit, motorcycle learner's permit, or special 

identification card without a photograph. 

Persons 70 years of age or older may exchange a valid Virginia driver's license for a 

special identification card at no fee. Special identification cards subsequently issued to 

such persons shall be subject to the regular fees for special identification cards. 

B. The fee for the issuance of an original, duplicate, reissue, or renewal special 

identification card is $2 per year, with a $10 minimum fee. Persons 21 years old or 

older may be issued a scenic special identification card for an additional fee of $5. 

C. Every special identification card shall expire on the applicant's birthday at the end 

of the period of years for which a special identification card has been issued. At no 

time shall any special identification card be issued for less than three nor more than 

eight years, except under the provisions of subsection B of § 46.2-328.1 and except that 

those cards issued to children under the age of 15 shall expire on the child's sixteenth 

birthday. Notwithstanding these limitations, the Commissioner may extend the 

validity period of an expiring card if (i) the Department is unable to process an 

application for renewal due to circumstances beyond its control, (ii) the extension has 

been authorized under a directive from the Governor, and (iii) the card was not issued 

as a temporary special identification card under the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 46.2-328.1. However, in no event shall the validity period be extended more than 90 

days per occurrence of such conditions. Any special identification card issued to a 

person required to register pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 shall 

expire on the applicant's birthday in years which the applicant attains an age equally 

divisible by five. For each person required to register pursuant to Chapter 9 of Title 

9.1, the Department may not waive the requirement that each such person shall appear 

for each renewal or the requirement to obtain a photograph in accordance with 

subsection C of § 46.2-323. 

D. A special identification card issued under this section may be similar in size, shape, 

and design to a driver's license, and include a photograph of its holder, but the card 
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shall be readily distinguishable from a driver's license and shall clearly state that it 

does not authorize the person to whom it is issued to drive a motor vehicle. Every 

applicant for a special identification card shall appear in person before the Department 

to apply for a renewal, duplicate or reissue unless specifically permitted by the 

Department to apply in another manner. 

E. Special identification cards, for persons at least 15 years old but less than 21 years 

old, shall be immediately and readily distinguishable from those issued to persons 21 

years old or older. Distinguishing characteristics shall include unique design elements 

of the document and descriptors within the photograph area to identify persons who 

are at least 15 years old but less than 21 years old. These descriptors shall include the 

month, day, and year when the person will become 21 years old. 

F. Special identification cards for persons under age 15 shall bear a full face 

photograph. The special identification card issued to persons under age 15 shall be 

readily distinguishable from a driver's license and from other special identification 

cards issued by the Department. Such cards shall clearly indicate that it does not 

authorize the person to whom it is issued to drive a motor vehicle. 

G. Unless otherwise prohibited by law, a valid Virginia driver's license shall be 

surrendered upon application for a special identification card without the applicant's 

having to present proof of legal presence as required by § 46.2-328.1 if the Virginia 

driver's license is unexpired and it has not been revoked, suspended, or cancelled. The 

special identification card shall be considered a reissue and the expiration date shall 

be the last day of the month of the surrendered driver's license's month of expiration. 

H. Any personal information, as identified in § 2.2-3801, which is retained by the 

Department from an application for the issuance of a special identification card is 

confidential and shall not be divulged to any person, association, corporation, or 

organization, public or private, except to the legal guardian or the attorney of the 

applicant or to a person, association, corporation, or organization nominated in writing 

by the applicant, his legal guardian, or his attorney. This subsection shall not prevent 

the Department from furnishing the application or any information thereon to any law-

enforcement agency. 

I. Any person who uses a false or fictitious name or gives a false or fictitious address 

in any application for an identification card or knowingly makes a false statement or 

conceals a material fact or otherwise commits a fraud in any such application shall be 

guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. However, where the name or address is given, or 

false statement is made, or fact is concealed, or fraud committed, with the intent to 

purchase a firearm or where the identification card is obtained for the purpose of 

committing any offense punishable as a felony, a violation of this section shall 

constitute a Class 4 felony. 

J. The Department shall utilize the various communications media throughout the 
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Commonwealth to inform Virginia residents of the provisions of this section and to 

promote and encourage the public to take advantage of its provisions. 

K. The Department shall electronically transmit application information to the 

Department of State Police, in a format approved by the State Police, for comparison 

with information contained in the Virginia Criminal Information Network and 

National Crime Information Center Convicted Sexual Offender Registry Files, at the 

time of issuance of a special identification card. Whenever it appears from the records 

of the State Police that a person has failed to comply with the duty to 

register or, reregister, or verify his registration information pursuant to Chapter 9 

(§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, the State Police shall promptly investigate and, if there 

is probable cause to believe a violation has occurred, obtain a warrant or assist in 

obtaining an indictment charging a violation of § 18.2-472.1 in the jurisdiction in which 

the person made application for the special identification card. 

L. When requested by the applicant, the applicant's parent if the applicant is a minor, 

or the applicant's guardian, and upon presentation of a signed statement by a licensed 

physician confirming the applicant's condition, the Department shall indicate on the 

applicant's special identification card that the applicant has any condition listed in 

subsection K of § 46.2-342 or that the applicant is blind or vision impaired. 

§ 46.2-2011.33. Prohibition on taxicab operators; registered sex offender. 

No person who is required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against 

Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 for a sexually 

violent Tier III offense, as defined in subsection E of § 9.1-902, or who is listed on the 

U.S. Department of Justice's National Sex Offender Public Website for an offense that 

is similar to a sexually violent Tier III offense may operate a taxicab for the 

transportation of passengers for remuneration over the highways of the 

Commonwealth. 

§ 63.2-100. Definitions. 

As used in this title, unless the context requires a different meaning: 

"Abused or neglected child" means any child less than 18 years of age: 

1. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care creates or inflicts, threatens 

to create or inflict, or allows to be created or inflicted upon such child a physical or 

mental injury by other than accidental means, or creates a substantial risk of death, 

disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions, including, but not limited 

to, a child who is with his parent or other person responsible for his care either (i) 

during the manufacture or attempted manufacture of a Schedule I or II controlled 

substance, or (ii) during the unlawful sale of such substance by that child's parents or 

other person responsible for his care, where such manufacture, or attempted 
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manufacture or unlawful sale would constitute a felony violation of § 18.2-248; 

2. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care neglects or refuses to 

provide care necessary for his health. However, no child who in good faith is under 

treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer in accordance with the tenets and 

practices of a recognized church or religious denomination shall for that reason alone 

be considered to be an abused or neglected child. Further, a decision by parents who 

have legal authority for the child or, in the absence of parents with legal authority for 

the child, any person with legal authority for the child, who refuses a particular 

medical treatment for a child with a life-threatening condition shall not be deemed a 

refusal to provide necessary care if (i) such decision is made jointly by the parents or 

other person with legal authority and the child; (ii) the child has reached 14 years of 

age and is sufficiently mature to have an informed opinion on the subject of his 

medical treatment; (iii) the parents or other person with legal authority and the child 

have considered alternative treatment options; and (iv) the parents or other person 

with legal authority and the child believe in good faith that such decision is in the 

child's best interest. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to limit the 

provisions of § 16.1-278.4; 

3. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care abandons such child; 

4. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care commits or allows to be 

committed any act of sexual exploitation or any sexual act upon a child in violation of 

the law; 

5. Who is without parental care or guardianship caused by the unreasonable absence 

or the mental or physical incapacity of the child's parent, guardian, legal custodian or 

other person standing in loco parentis; 

6. Whose parents or other person responsible for his care creates a substantial risk of 

physical or mental injury by knowingly leaving the child alone in the same dwelling, 

including an apartment as defined in § 55.1-2000, with a person to whom the child is 

not related by blood or marriage and who the parent or other person responsible for 

his care knows has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration 

is required as a violent sexual Tier III offender pursuant to § 9.1-902; or 

7. Who has been identified as a victim of sex trafficking or severe forms of trafficking 

as defined in the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000, 22 U.S.C. § 7102 et 

seq., and in the Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act of 2015, 42 U.S.C. § 5101 et 

seq. 

If a civil proceeding under this title is based solely on the parent having left the child 

at a hospital or emergency medical services agency, it shall be an affirmative defense 

that such parent safely delivered the child to a hospital that provides 24-hour 

emergency services or to an attended emergency medical services agency that 
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employs emergency medical services providers, within 14 days of the child's birth. 

For purposes of terminating parental rights pursuant to § 16.1-283 and placement for 

adoption, the court may find such a child is a neglected child upon the ground of 

abandonment. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and approved by a parent, local 

board or a licensed child-placing agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a child who is in the custody of 

a child-placing agency in an approved home for the purpose of adoption. 

"Adult abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury or mental anguish 

or unreasonable confinement of an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603. 

"Adult day care center" means any facility that is either operated for profit or that 

desires licensure and that provides supplementary care and protection during only a 

part of the day to four or more aged, infirm or disabled adults who reside elsewhere, 

except (i) a facility or portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, and (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for only persons related to him by blood or 

marriage. Included in this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 

institutions owned, operated or controlled by a single entity and providing such 

supplementary care and protection to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm or 

disabled adults. 

"Adult exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, improper, or fraudulent use of an 

adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 or his funds, property, benefits, resources, or other 

assets for another's profit, benefit, or advantage, including a caregiver or person 

serving in a fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful use of or 

access to such funds, property, benefits, resources, or other assets. "Adult 

exploitation" includes (i) an intentional breach of a fiduciary obligation to an adult to 

his detriment or an intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult in a 

manner that results in neglect of such adult; (ii) the acquisition, possession, or control 

of an adult's financial resources or property through the use of undue influence, 

coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to pay for goods or services 

or perform services against his will for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the 

adult did not agree, or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to pay for such 

goods or services or to perform such services. 

"Adult foster care" means room and board, supervision, and special services to an 

adult who has a physical or mental condition. Adult foster care may be provided by a 

single provider for up to three adults. 

"Adult neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 is living under such 
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circumstances that he is not able to provide for himself or is not being provided 

services necessary to maintain his physical and mental health and that the failure to 

receive such necessary services impairs or threatens to impair his well-being. 

However, no adult shall be considered neglected solely on the basis that such adult is 

receiving religious nonmedical treatment or religious nonmedical nursing care in lieu 

of medical care, provided that such treatment or care is performed in good faith and in 

accordance with the religious practices of the adult and there is a written or oral 

expression of consent by that adult. 

"Adult protective services" means services provided by the local department that are 

necessary to protect an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 from abuse, neglect or 

exploitation. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by an assisted living facility 

for adults who may have physical or mental impairments and require at least a 

moderate level of assistance with activities of daily living. 

"Assisted living facility" means any congregate residential setting that provides or 

coordinates personal and health care services, 24-hour supervision, and assistance 

(scheduled and unscheduled) for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who 

are aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily residential setting, 

except (i) a facility or portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, but including any 

portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual 

who cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a 

facility or portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons between the ages of 

18 and 21, or 22 if enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped pursuant to 

§ 22.1-214, when such facility is licensed by the Department as a children's residential 

facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.), but including any portion of the facility 

not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years of age or older or 

the disabled that provides no more than basic coordination of care services and is 

funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing Development Authority. 

Included in this definition are any two or more places, establishments or institutions 

owned or operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care to a combined 

total of four or more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care means the 

protection, general supervision and oversight of the physical and mental well-being of 

an aged, infirm or disabled individual. 

"Auxiliary grants" means cash payments made to certain aged, blind or disabled 

individuals who receive benefits under Title XVI of the Social Security Act, as 

amended, or would be eligible to receive these benefits except for excess income. 

"Birth family" or "birth sibling" means the child's biological family or biological 
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sibling. 

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and, for purposes of adoptive 

placement, means parent(s) by previous adoption. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) two or more children 

under the age of 13 in a facility that is not the residence of the provider or of any of 

the children in care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service arrangement for children 

where, during the absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed 

to assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child 

under the age of 13 for less than a 24-hour period. 

"Child-placing agency" means (i) any person who places children in foster homes, 

adoptive homes or independent living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819, (ii) a local 

board that places children in foster homes or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-

900, 63.2-903, and 63.2-1221, or (iii) an entity that assists parents with the process of 

delegating parental and legal custodial powers of their children pursuant to Chapter 10 

(§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20. "Child-placing agency" does not include the persons to 

whom such parental or legal custodial powers are delegated pursuant to Chapter 10 

(§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20. Officers, employees, or agents of the Commonwealth, or 

any locality acting within the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or 

maintain a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child-protective services" means the identification, receipt and immediate response 

to complaints and reports of alleged child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years 

of age. It also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing necessary 

protective and rehabilitative services for a child and his family when the child has 

been found to have been abused or neglected or is at risk of being abused or 

neglected. 

"Child support services" means any civil, criminal or administrative action taken by 

the Division of Child Support Enforcement to locate parents; establish paternity; and 

establish, modify, enforce, or collect child support, or child and spousal support. 

"Child-welfare agency" means a child day center, child-placing agency, children's 

residential facility, family day home, family day system, or independent foster home. 

"Children's residential facility" means any facility, child-caring institution, or group 

home that is maintained for the purpose of receiving children separated from their 

parents or guardians for full-time care, maintenance, protection and guidance, or for 
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the purpose of providing independent living services to persons between 18 and 21 

years of age who are in the process of transitioning out of foster care. Children's 

residential facility shall not include: 

1. A licensed or accredited educational institution whose pupils, in the ordinary course 

of events, return annually to the homes of their parents or guardians for not less than 

two months of summer vacation; 

2. An establishment required to be licensed as a summer camp by § 35.1-18; and 

3. A licensed or accredited hospital legally maintained as such. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department, his designee or 

authorized representative. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social Services. 

"Department of Health and Human Services" means the Department of Health and 

Human Services of the United States government or any department or agency thereof 

that may hereafter be designated as the agency to administer the Social Security Act, 

as amended. 

"Disposable income" means that part of the income due and payable of any individual 

remaining after the deduction of any amount required by law to be withheld. 

"Energy assistance" means benefits to assist low-income households with their home 

heating and cooling needs, including, but not limited to, purchase of materials or 

substances used for home heating, repair or replacement of heating equipment, 

emergency intervention in no-heat situations, purchase or repair of cooling equipment, 

and payment of electric bills to operate cooling equipment, in accordance with § 63.2-

805, or provided under the Virginia Energy Assistance Program established pursuant 

to the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 (Title XXVI of Public 

Law 97-35), as amended. 

"Family and permanency team" means the group of individuals assembled by the local 

department to assist with determining planning and placement options for a child, 

which shall include, as appropriate, all biological relatives and fictive kin of the child, 

as well as any professionals who have served as a resource to the child or his family, 

such as teachers, medical or mental health providers, and clergy members. In the case 

of a child who is 14 years of age or older, the family and permanency team shall also 

include any members of the child's case planning team that were selected by the child 

in accordance with subsection A of § 16.1-281. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in the residence of the 

provider or the home of any of the children in care for one through 12 children under 

the age of 13, exclusive of the provider's own children and any children who reside in 
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the home, when at least one child receives care for compensation. The provider of a 

licensed or registered family day home shall disclose to the parents or guardians of 

children in their care the percentage of time per week that persons other than the 

provider will care for the children. Family day homes serving five through 12 

children, exclusive of the provider's own children and any children who reside in the 

home, shall be licensed. However, no family day home shall care for more than four 

children under the age of two, including the provider's own children and any children 

who reside in the home, unless the family day home is licensed or voluntarily 

registered. However, a family day home where the children in care are all related to 

the provider by blood or marriage shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Family day system" means any person who approves family day homes as members 

of its system; who refers children to available family day homes in that system; and 

who, through contractual arrangement, may provide central administrative functions 

including, but not limited to, training of operators of member homes; technical 

assistance and consultation to operators of member homes; inspection, supervision, 

monitoring, and evaluation of member homes; and referral of children to available 

health and social services. 

"Fictive kin" means persons who are not related to a child by blood or adoption but 

have an established relationship with the child or his family. 

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through (i) an agreement between 

the parents or guardians and the local board where legal custody remains with the 

parents or guardians or (ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 

board or licensed child-placing agency. "Foster care placement" does not include 

placement of a child in accordance with a power of attorney pursuant to Chapter 10 

(§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20. 

"Foster home" means a residence licensed by a child-placing agency or local board in 

which any child, other than a child by birth or adoption of such person or a child who 

is the subject of a power of attorney to delegate parental or legal custodial powers by 

his parents or legal custodian to the natural person who has been designated the child's 

legal guardian pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20 and who exercises 

legal authority over the child on a continuous basis for at least 24 hours without 

compensation, resides as a member of the household. 

"General relief" means money payments and other forms of relief made to those 

persons mentioned in § 63.2-802 in accordance with the regulations of the Board and 

reimbursable in accordance with § 63.2-401. 

"Independent foster home" means a private family home in which any child, other 

than a child by birth or adoption of such person, resides as a member of the household 

and has been placed therein independently of a child-placing agency except (i) a home 

in which are received only children related by birth or adoption of the person who 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/20-166
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maintains such home and children of personal friends of such person; (ii) a home in 

which is received a child or children committed under the provisions of subdivision A 

4 of § 16.1-278.2, subdivision 6 of § 16.1-278.4, or subdivision A 13 of § 16.1-278.8; and 

(iii) a home in which are received only children who are the subject of a properly 

executed power of attorney pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20. 

"Independent living" means a planned program of services designed to assist a child 

age 16 and over and persons who are former foster care children or were formerly 

committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice and are between the ages of 18 and 

21 in transitioning to self-sufficiency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of (i) a child at least 16 years of 

age who is in the custody of a local board or licensed child-placing agency by the 

local board or licensed child-placing agency or (ii) a child at least 16 years of age or a 

person between the ages of 18 and 21 who was committed to the Department of 

Juvenile Justice immediately prior to placement by the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, in a living arrangement in which such child or person does not have daily 

substitute parental supervision. 

"Independent living services" means services and activities provided to a child in 

foster care 14 years of age or older who was committed or entrusted to a local board 

of social services, child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. "Independent 

living services" may also mean services and activities provided to a person who (i) 

was in foster care on his 18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years; (ii) 

is between the ages of 18 and 21 and who, immediately prior to his commitment to the 

Department of Juvenile Justice, was in the custody of a local board of social services; 

or (iii) is a child at least 16 years of age or a person between the ages of 18 and 21 

who was committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice immediately prior to 

placement in an independent living arrangement. Such services shall include 

counseling, education, housing, employment, and money management skills 

development, access to essential documents, and other appropriate services to help 

children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen by the resident of the 

assisted living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted living facility, 

directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an independent 

contractor with the residence. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the care of a child in an adoptive 

home or foster care placement into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-

placing agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such placements in 

accordance with the laws of the foreign country under which it operates. 

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of a child in an adoptive 

home, foster care placement or in the home of the child's parent or with a relative or 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-278.2
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nonagency guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-placing agency or 

court when the full legal right of the child's parent or nonagency guardian to plan for 

the child has been voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of any 

court. 

"Kinship care" means the full-time care, nurturing, and protection of children by 

relatives. 

"Kinship guardian" means the adult relative of a child in a kinship guardianship 

established in accordance with § 63.2-1305 who has been awarded custody of the child 

by the court after acting as the child's foster parent. 

"Kinship guardianship" means a relationship established in accordance with § 63.2-

1305 between a child and an adult relative of the child who has formerly acted as the 

child's foster parent that is intended to be permanent and self-sustaining as evidenced 

by the transfer by the court to the adult relative of the child of the authority necessary 

to ensure the protection, education, care and control, and custody of the child and the 

authority for decision making for the child. 

"Kinship Guardianship Assistance program" means a program consistent with 42 

U.S.C. § 673 that provides, subject to a kinship guardianship assistance agreement 

developed in accordance with § 63.2-1305, payments to eligible individuals who have 

received custody of a relative child of whom they had been the foster parents. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services representing one or more 

counties or cities. 

"Local department" means the local department of social services of any county or 

city in this Commonwealth. 

"Local director" means the director or his designated representative of the local 

department of the city or county. 

"Merit system plan" means those regulations adopted by the Board in the development 

and operation of a system of personnel administration meeting requirements of the 

federal Office of Personnel Management. 

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the placement of a child or the 

placing of a child in a family home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the 

purpose of foster care or adoption. 

"Public assistance" means Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF); 

auxiliary grants to the aged, blind and disabled; medical assistance; energy assistance; 

food stamps; employment services; child care; and general relief. 

"Qualified assessor" means an entity contracting with the Department of Medical 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1305
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Assistance Services to perform nursing facility pre-admission screening or to 

complete the uniform assessment instrument for a home and community-based waiver 

program, including an independent physician contracting with the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services to complete the uniform assessment instrument for 

residents of assisted living facilities, or any hospital that has contracted with the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services to perform nursing facility pre-admission 

screenings. 

"Qualified individual" means a trained professional or licensed clinician who is not an 

employee of the local board of social services or licensed child-placing agency that 

placed the child in a qualified residential treatment program and is not affiliated with 

any placement setting in which children are placed by such local board of social 

services or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Qualified residential treatment program" means a program that (i) provides 24-hour 

residential placement services for children in foster care; (ii) has adopted a trauma-

informed treatment model that meets the clinical and other needs of children with 

serious emotional or behavioral disorders, including any clinical or other needs 

identified through assessments conducted pursuant to clause (viii) of this definition; 

(iii) employs registered or licensed nursing and other clinical staff who provide care, 

on site and within the scope of their practice, and are available 24 hours a day, 7 days 

a week; (iv) conducts outreach with the child's family members, including efforts to 

maintain connections between the child and his siblings and other family; documents 

and maintains records of such outreach efforts; and maintains contact information for 

any known biological family and fictive kin of the child; (v) whenever appropriate 

and in the best interest of the child, facilitates participation by family members in the 

child's treatment program before and after discharge and documents the manner in 

which such participation is facilitated; (vi) provides discharge planning and family-

based aftercare support for at least six months after discharge; (vii) is licensed in 

accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 671(a)(10) and accredited by an organization approved 

by the federal Secretary of Health and Human Services; and (viii) requires that any 

child placed in the program receive an assessment within 30 days of such placement 

by a qualified individual that (a) assesses the strengths and needs of the child using an 

age-appropriate, evidence-based, validated, and functional assessment tool approved 

by the Commissioner of Social Services; (b) identifies whether the needs of the child 

can be met through placement with a family member or in a foster home or, if not, in a 

placement setting authorized by 42 U.S.C. § 672(k)(2), including a qualified 

residential treatment program, that would provide the most effective and appropriate 

level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment and be consistent with 

the short-term and long-term goals established for the child in his foster care or 

permanency plan; (c) establishes a list of short-term and long-term mental and 

behavioral health goals for the child; and (d) is documented in a written report to be 

filed with the court prior to any hearing on the child's placement pursuant to § 16.1-

281, 16.1-282, 16.1-282.1, or 16.1-282.2. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-281
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"Registered family day home" means any family day home that has met the standards 

for voluntary registration for such homes pursuant to regulations adopted by the Board 

and that has obtained a certificate of registration from the Commissioner. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided by an assisted living 

facility for adults who may have physical or mental impairments and require only 

minimal assistance with the activities of daily living. The definition of "residential 

living care" includes the services provided by independent living facilities that 

voluntarily become licensed. 

"Sibling" means each of two or more children having one or more parents in common. 

"Social services" means foster care, adoption, adoption assistance, child-protective 

services, domestic violence services, or any other services program implemented in 

accordance with regulations adopted by the Board. Social services also includes adult 

services pursuant to Article 4 (§ 51.5-144 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 and adult 

protective services pursuant to Article 5 (§ 51.5-148) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 

provided by local departments of social services in accordance with regulations and 

under the supervision of the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Special order" means an order imposing an administrative sanction issued to any 

party licensed pursuant to this title by the Commissioner that has a stated duration of 

not more than 12 months. A special order shall be considered a case decision as 

defined in § 2.2-4001. 

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF" means the program 

administered by the Department through which a relative can receive monthly cash 

assistance for the support of his eligible children. 

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families-Unemployed Parent" or "TANF-UP" 

means the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program for families in which 

both natural or adoptive parents of a child reside in the home and neither parent is 

exempt from Virginia Initiative for Education and Work (VIEW) participation under 

§ 63.2-609. 

"Title IV-E Foster Care" means a federal program authorized under §§ 472 and 473 of 

the Social Security Act, as amended, and administered by the Department through 

which foster care is provided on behalf of qualifying children. 

§ 63.2-1205.1. Certain offenders prohibited from adopting a child. 

No petition for adoption shall be granted if the person seeking to adopt has been 

convicted of a sexually violent offense or an offense requiring registration pursuant to 

§ 9.1-902. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/51.5-144
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§ 63.2-1503. Local departments to establish child-protective services; duties. 

A. Each local department shall establish child-protective services under a 

departmental coordinator within such department or with one or more adjacent local 

departments that shall be staffed with qualified personnel pursuant to regulations 

adopted by the Board. The local department shall be the public agency responsible for 

receiving and responding to complaints and reports, except that (i) in cases where the 

reports or complaints are to be made to the court and the judge determines that no 

local department within a reasonable geographic distance can impartially respond to 

the report, the court shall assign the report to the court services unit for evaluation; 

and (ii) in cases where an employee at a private or state-operated hospital, institution 

or other facility, or an employee of a school board is suspected of abusing or 

neglecting a child in such hospital, institution or other facility, or public school, the 

local department shall request the Department and the relevant private or state-

operated hospital, institution or other facility, or school board to assist in conducting a 

joint investigation in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board, in 

consultation with the Departments of Education, Health, Medical Assistance Services, 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Juvenile Justice and Corrections. 

B. The local department shall ensure, through its own personnel or through 

cooperative arrangements with other local agencies, the capability of receiving reports 

or complaints and responding to them promptly on a 24-hours-a-day, seven-days-per-

week basis. 

C. The local department shall widely publicize a telephone number for receiving 

complaints and reports. 

D. The local department shall notify the local attorney for the Commonwealth and the 

local law-enforcement agency of all complaints of suspected child abuse or neglect 

involving (i) any death of a child; (ii) any injury or threatened injury to the child in 

which a felony or Class 1 misdemeanor is also suspected; (iii) any sexual abuse, 

suspected sexual abuse or other sexual offense involving a child, including but not 

limited to the use or display of the child in sexually explicit visual material, as defined 

in § 18.2-374.1; (iv) any abduction of a child; (v) any felony or Class 1 misdemeanor 

drug offense involving a child; or (vi) contributing to the delinquency of a minor in 

violation of § 18.2-371, immediately, but in no case more than two hours of receipt of 

the complaint, and shall provide the attorney for the Commonwealth and the local 

law-enforcement agency with records and information of the local department, 

including records related to any complaints of abuse or neglect involving the victim or 

the alleged perpetrator, related to the investigation of the complaint. The local 

department shall notify the local attorney for the Commonwealth of all complaints of 

suspected child abuse or neglect involving the child's being left alone in the same 

dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by blood or marriage and who 

has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required as 

a violent sexual Tier III offender pursuant to § 9.1-902, immediately, but in no case 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503
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more than two hours of receipt of the complaint, and shall provide the attorney for the 

Commonwealth with records and information of the local department that would help 

determine whether a violation of post-release conditions, probation, parole, or court 

order has occurred due to the nonrelative sexual offender's contact with the child. The 

local department shall not allow reports of the death of the victim from other local 

agencies to substitute for direct reports to the attorney for the Commonwealth and the 

local law-enforcement agency. The local department shall develop, when practicable, 

memoranda of understanding for responding to reports of child abuse and neglect with 

local law enforcement and the attorney for the Commonwealth. 

In each case in which the local department notifies the local law-enforcement agency 

of a complaint pursuant to this subsection, the local department shall, within two 

business days of delivery of the notification, complete a written report, on a form 

provided by the Board for such purpose, which shall include (a) the name of the 

representative of the local department providing notice required by this subsection; (b) 

the name of the local law-enforcement officer who received such notice; (c) the date 

and time that notification was made; (d) the identity of the victim; (e) the identity of 

the person alleged to have abused or neglected the child, if known; (f) the clause or 

clauses in this subsection that describe the reasons for the notification; and (g) the 

signatures, which may be electronic signatures, of the representatives of the local 

department making the notification and the local law-enforcement officer receiving 

the notification. Such report shall be included in the record of the investigation and 

may be submitted either in writing or electronically. 

E. When abuse or neglect is suspected in any case involving the death of a child, the 

local department shall report the case immediately to the regional medical examiner 

and the local law-enforcement agency. 

F. The local department shall use reasonable diligence to locate (i) any child for 

whom a report of suspected abuse or neglect has been received and is under 

investigation, receiving family assessment, or for whom a founded determination of 

abuse and neglect has been made and a child-protective services case opened and (ii) 

persons who are the subject of a report that is under investigation or receiving family 

assessment, if the whereabouts of the child or such persons are unknown to the local 

department. 

G. When an abused or neglected child and the persons who are the subject of an open 

child-protective services case have relocated out of the jurisdiction of the local 

department, the local department shall notify the child-protective services agency in 

the jurisdiction to which such persons have relocated, whether inside or outside of the 

Commonwealth, and forward to such agency relevant portions of the case record. The 

receiving local department shall arrange protective and rehabilitative services as 

required by this section. 

H. When a child for whom a report of suspected abuse or neglect has been received 
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and is under investigation or receiving family assessment and the child and the child's 

parents or other persons responsible for the child's care who are the subject of the 

report that is under investigation or family assessment have relocated out of the 

jurisdiction of the local department, the local department shall notify the child-

protective services agency in the jurisdiction to which the child and such persons have 

relocated, whether inside or outside of the Commonwealth, and complete such 

investigation or family assessment by requesting such agency's assistance in 

completing the investigation or family assessment. The local department that 

completes the investigation or family assessment shall forward to the receiving 

agency relevant portions of the case record in order for the receiving agency to 

arrange protective and rehabilitative services as required by this section. 

I. Upon receipt of a report of child abuse or neglect, the local department shall 

determine the validity of such report and shall make a determination to conduct an 

investigation pursuant to § 63.2-1505 or, if designated as a child-protective services 

differential response agency by the Department according to § 63.2-1504, a family 

assessment pursuant to § 63.2-1506. 

J. The local department shall foster, when practicable, the creation, maintenance and 

coordination of hospital and community-based multidisciplinary teams that shall 

include where possible, but not be limited to, members of the medical, mental health, 

social work, nursing, education, legal and law-enforcement professions. Such teams 

shall assist the local departments in identifying abused and neglected children; 

coordinating medical, social, and legal services for the children and their families; 

developing innovative programs for detection and prevention of child abuse; 

promoting community concern and action in the area of child abuse and neglect; and 

disseminating information to the general public with respect to the problem of child 

abuse and neglect and the facilities and prevention and treatment methods available to 

combat child abuse and neglect. These teams may be the family assessment and 

planning teams established pursuant to § 2.2-5207. Multidisciplinary teams may 

develop agreements regarding the exchange of information among the parties for the 

purposes of the investigation and disposition of complaints of child abuse and neglect, 

delivery of services and child protection. Any information exchanged in accordance 

with the agreement shall not be considered to be a violation of the provisions of 

§ 63.2-102, 63.2-104, or 63.2-105. 

The local department shall also coordinate its efforts in the provision of these services 

for abused and neglected children with the judge and staff of the court. 

K. The local department may develop multidisciplinary teams to provide consultation 

to the local department during the investigation of selected cases involving child 

abuse or neglect, and to make recommendations regarding the prosecution of such 

cases. These teams may include, but are not limited to, members of the medical, 

mental health, legal and law-enforcement professions, including the attorney for the 

Commonwealth or his designee; a local child-protective services representative; and 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1505
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the guardian ad litem or other court-appointed advocate for the child. Any information 

exchanged for the purpose of such consultation shall not be considered a violation of 

§ 63.2-102, 63.2-104, or 63.2-105. 

L. The local department shall report annually on its activities concerning abused and 

neglected children to the court and to the Child-Protective Services Unit in the 

Department on forms provided by the Department. 

M. Statements, or any evidence derived therefrom, made to local department child-

protective services personnel, or to any person performing the duties of such 

personnel, by any person accused of the abuse, injury, neglect or death of a child after 

the arrest of such person, shall not be used in evidence in the case-in-chief against 

such person in the criminal proceeding on the question of guilt or innocence over the 

objection of the accused, unless the statement was made after such person was fully 

advised (i) of his right to remain silent, (ii) that anything he says may be used against 

him in a court of law, (iii) that he has a right to the presence of an attorney during any 

interviews, and (iv) that if he cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for him 

prior to any questioning. 

N. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the local department, in accordance 

with Board regulations, shall transmit information regarding reports, complaints, 

family assessments, and investigations involving children of active duty members of 

the United States Armed Forces or members of their household to family advocacy 

representatives of the United States Armed Forces. 

O. The local department shall notify the custodial parent and make reasonable efforts 

to notify the noncustodial parent as those terms are defined in § 63.2-1900 of a report 

of suspected abuse or neglect of a child who is the subject of an investigation or is 

receiving family assessment, in those cases in which such custodial or noncustodial 

parent is not the subject of the investigation. 

P. The local department shall (i) notify the Superintendent of Public Instruction 

without delay when an individual holding a license issued by the Board of Education 

is the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect and shall transmit 

identifying information regarding such individual if the local department knows the 

person holds a license issued by the Board of Education and (ii) notify the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction without delay if the founded complaint of child 

abuse or neglect is dismissed following an appeal pursuant to § 63.2-1526. Nothing in 

this subsection shall be construed to affect the rights of any individual holding a 

license issued by the Board of Education to any hearings or appeals otherwise 

provided by law. Any information exchanged for the purpose of this subsection shall 

not be considered a violation of § 63.2-102, 63.2-104, or 63.2-105. 

§ 63.2-1506. Family assessments by local departments. 
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A. A family assessment requires the collection of information necessary to determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the child and family that will 

deter abuse or neglect; 

3. Risk of future harm to the child; 

4. Whether the mother of a child who was exposed in utero to a controlled substance 

sought substance abuse counseling or treatment prior to the child's birth; and 

5. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and rehabilitative services are 

indicated and the family is unable or unwilling to participate in services. 

B. When a local department has been designated as a child-protective services 

differential response system participant by the Department pursuant to § 63.2-1504 and 

responds to the report or complaint by conducting a family assessment, the local 

department shall: 

1. Conduct an immediate family assessment and, if the report or complaint was based 

upon one of the factors specified in subsection B of § 63.2-1509, the local department 

may file a petition pursuant to § 16.1-241.3; 

2. Obtain and consider the results of a search of the child abuse and neglect registry 

for any individual who is the subject of a family assessment. The local board shall 

determine whether the individual has resided in another state within at least the 

preceding five years, and, if he has resided in another state, the local board shall 

request a search of the child abuse and neglect registry or equivalent registry 

maintained by such state. The local board also may obtain and consider, in accordance 

with regulations of the Board, statewide criminal history record information from the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange for any individual who is the subject of a family 

assessment; 

3. Immediately contact the subject of the report and the family of the child alleged to 

have been abused or neglected and give each a written and an oral explanation of the 

family assessment procedure. The family assessment shall be in writing and shall be 

completed in accordance with Board regulation; 

4. Complete the family assessment within 45 days and transmit a report to such effect 

to the Department and to the person who is the subject of the family assessment. 

However, upon written justification by the local department, the family assessment 

may be extended, not to exceed a total of 60 days; 

5. Consult with the family to arrange for necessary protective and rehabilitative 

services to be provided to the child and his family. Families have the option of 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1504
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declining the services offered as a result of the family assessment. If the family 

declines the services, the case shall be closed unless the local department determines 

that sufficient cause exists to redetermine the case as one that needs to be investigated. 

In no instance shall a case be redetermined as an investigation solely because the 

family declines services; 

6. Petition the court for services deemed necessary; 

7. Make no disposition of founded or unfounded for reports in which a family 

assessment is completed. Reports in which a family assessment is completed shall not 

be entered into the central registry contained in § 63.2-1515; and 

8. Commence an immediate investigation, if at any time during the completion of the 

family assessment, the local department determines that an investigation is required. 

C. When a local department has been designated as a child-protective services 

differential response agency by the Department, the local department may investigate 

any report of child abuse or neglect, but the following valid reports of child abuse or 

neglect shall be investigated: (i) sexual abuse, (ii) child fatality, (iii) abuse or neglect 

resulting in serious injury as defined in § 18.2-371.1, (iv) cases involving a child's 

being left alone in the same dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by 

blood or marriage and who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for 

which registration is required as a violent sexual Tier III offender pursuant to § 9.1-

902, (v) child has been taken into the custody of the local department, or (vi) cases 

involving a caretaker at a state-licensed child day center, religiously exempt child day 

center, licensed, registered or approved family day home, private or public school, 

hospital or any institution. If a report or complaint is based upon one of the factors 

specified in subsection B of § 63.2-1509, the local department shall (a) conduct a 

family assessment, unless an investigation is required pursuant to this subsection or 

other provision of law or is necessary to protect the safety of the child, and (b) 

develop a plan of safe care in accordance with federal law, regardless of whether the 

local department makes a finding of abuse or neglect. 

D. Any individual who is the subject of a family assessment conducted under this 

section shall notify the local department prior to changing his place of residence and 

provide the local department with the address of his new residence. 

§ 63.2-1732. Regulations for assisted living facilities. 

A. The Board shall have the authority to adopt and enforce regulations to carry out the 

provisions of this subtitle and to protect the health, safety, welfare and individual 

rights of residents of assisted living facilities and to promote their highest level of 

functioning. Such regulations shall take into consideration cost constraints of smaller 

operations in complying with such regulations and shall provide a procedure whereby 

a licensee or applicant may request, and the Commissioner may grant, an allowable 
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variance to a regulation pursuant to § 63.2-1703. 

B. Regulations shall include standards for staff qualifications and training; facility 

design, functional design and equipment; services to be provided to residents; 

administration of medicine; allowable medical conditions for which care can be 

provided; and medical procedures to be followed by staff, including provisions for 

physicians' services, restorative care, and specialized rehabilitative services. The 

Board shall adopt regulations on qualifications and training for employees of an 

assisted living facility in a direct care position. "Direct care position" means 

supervisors, assistants, aides, or other employees of a facility who assist residents in 

their daily living activities. 

C. Regulations for a Medication Management Plan in a licensed assisted living facility 

shall be developed by the Board, in consultation with the Board of Nursing and the 

Board of Pharmacy. Such regulations shall (i) establish the elements to be contained 

within a Medication Management Plan, including a demonstrated understanding of the 

responsibilities associated with medication management by the facility; standard 

operating and record-keeping procedures; staff qualifications, training and 

supervision; documentation of daily medication administration; and internal 

monitoring of plan conformance by the facility; (ii) include a requirement that each 

assisted living facility shall establish and maintain a written Medication Management 

Plan that has been approved by the Department; and (iii) provide that a facility's 

failure to conform to any approved Medication Management Plan shall be subject to 

the sanctions set forth in § 63.2-1709 or 63.2-1709.2. 

D. Regulations shall require all licensed assisted living facilities with six or more 

residents to be able to connect by July 1, 2007, to a temporary emergency electrical 

power source for the provision of electricity during an interruption of the normal 

electric power supply. The installation shall be in compliance with the Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

E. Regulations for medical procedures in assisted living facilities shall be developed 

in consultation with the State Board of Health and adopted by the Board, and 

compliance with these regulations shall be determined by Department of Health or 

Department inspectors as provided by an interagency agreement between the 

Department and the Department of Health. 

F. In developing regulations to determine the number of assisted living facilities for 

which an assisted living facility administrator may serve as administrator of record, 

the Board shall consider (i) the number of residents in each of the facilities, (ii) the 

travel time between each of the facilities, and (iii) the qualifications of the on-site 

manager under the supervision of the administrator of record. 

G. Regulations shall require that each assisted living facility register with the 

Department of State Police to receive notice of the registration or, reregistration, or 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1703
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verification of registration information of any sex offender person required to register 

with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to Chapter 9 

(§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 within the same or a contiguous zip code area in which 

the facility is located, pursuant to § 9.1-914. 

H. Regulations shall require that each assisted living facility ascertain, prior to 

admission, whether a potential resident is a registered sex offender required to 

register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to 

Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1, if the facility anticipates the potential resident 

will have a length of stay greater than three days or in fact stays longer than three 

days. 

2. That the provisions of this act may result in a net increase in periods of 

imprisonment or commitment. Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the 

estimated amount of the necessary appropriation is $0 for periods of imprisonment in 

state adult correctional facilities and cannot be determined for periods of commitment 

to the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

 
Chapter 826 

Senate Bill 492 
 

Sex offenses requiring registration. Amends §9.1-902 to clarify the registration and 
reregistration obligations imposed upon a person convicted of a foreign sex offense for 
the purposes of registration with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. 
 

 

CHAPTER 826 
An Act to amend and reenact § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia, relating to sex offenses 

requiring registration. 

[S 492] 

Approved April 7, 2020 

  

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: 

§ 9.1-902. Offenses requiring registration. 

A. For purposes of this chapter: 

"Offense for which registration is required" includes: 

1. Any offense listed in subsection B; 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-900
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2. Criminal homicide; 

3. Murder; 

4. A sexually violent offense; 

5. Any offense similar to those listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 under the laws of 

any foreign country or any political subdivision thereof or the United States or any 

political subdivision thereof; and 

6. Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors 

registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted. 

B. The offenses included under this subsection include any violation of, attempted 

violation of, or conspiracy to violate: 

1. § 18.2-63 unless registration is required pursuant to subdivision E 1; § 18.2-64.1; 

former § 18.2-67.2:1; § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit rape; former § 18.1-88 with the 

intent to commit rape; any felony violation of § 18.2-346; any violation of subdivision 

(4) of § 18.2-355; any violation of subsection C of § 18.2-357.1; subsection B or C of 

§ 18.2-374.1:1; former subsection D of § 18.2-374.1:1 as it was in effect from July 1, 

1994, through June 30, 2007; former clause (iv) of subsection B of § 18.2-374.3 as it 

was in effect on June 30, 2007; subsection B, C, or D of § 18.2-374.3; or a third or 

subsequent conviction of (i) § 18.2-67.4, (ii) § 18.2-67.4:2, (iii) subsection C of § 18.2-

67.5, or (iv) § 18.2-386.1. 

If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 

commit any felony offense listed in this section; subsection A of § 18.2-374.1:1; or a 

felony under § 18.2-67.5:1. 

2. Where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-67.4, 

subsection C of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or a felony violation of former 

§ 18.1-191. 

3. § 18.2-370.6. 

4. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, and where the perpetrator is 

18 years of age or older and the victim is under the age of 13, any violation of § 18.2-

51.2. 

5. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, any violation of § 18.2-

356 punishable as a Class 3 felony or any violation of § 18.2-357 punishable as a Class 

3 felony. 
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6. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2019, any felony violation of 

§ 18.2-348 or 18.2-349. 

C. "Criminal homicide" means a homicide in conjunction with a violation of, 

attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate clause (i) of § 18.2-371 or § 18.2-371.1, 

when the offenses arise out of the same incident. 

D. "Murder" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate 

§ 18.2-31 or § 18.2-32 where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the 

victim is at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder is related to 

an offense listed in this section or a violation of former § 18.1-21 where the victim is 

(a) under 15 years of age or (b) at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and 

the murder is related to an offense listed in this section. 

E. "Sexually violent offense" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or 

conspiracy to violate: 

1. Clause (ii) and (iii) of § 18.2-48, former § 18.1-38 with the intent to defile or, for the 

purpose of concubinage or prostitution, a felony violation of subdivision (2) or (3) of 

former § 18.1-39 that involves assisting or aiding in such an abduction, § 18.2-61, 

former § 18.1-44 when such act is accomplished against the complaining witness's will, 

by force, or through the use of the complaining witness's mental incapacity or 

physical helplessness, or if the victim is under 13 years of age, subsection A of § 18.2-

63 where the perpetrator is more than five years older than the victim, § 18.2-67.1, 

§ 18.2-67.2, § 18.2-67.3, former § 18.1-215 when the complaining witness is under 13 

years of age, § 18.2-67.4 where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and the 

victim is under the age of six, subsections A and B of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-370, 

subdivision (1), (2), or (4) of former § 18.1-213, former § 18.1-214, § 18.2-370.1, or 

§ 18.2-374.1; 

2. § 18.2-63, § 18.2-64.1, former § 18.2-67.2:1, § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit rape 

or, where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, § 18.2-67.4, subsection C of § 18.2-

67.5, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1. An 

offense listed under this subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent offense only if 

the person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such 

offenses, provided that person had been at liberty between such convictions or 

adjudications; 

3. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 

commit any felony offense listed in this section. An offense listed under this 

subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent offense only if the person has been 

convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided that 

the person had been at liberty between such convictions or adjudications; or 
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4. Chapter 117 (18 U.S.C. § 2421 et seq.) of Title 18 of the United States Code or sex 

trafficking (as described in § 1591 of Title 18, U.S.C.). 

F. "Any offense listed in subsection B," "criminal homicide" as defined in this section, 

"murder" as defined in this section, and "sexually violent offense" as defined in this 

section includes (i) any similar 

1. Any offense under the laws of any foreign country or any political subdivision 

thereof or the United States or any political subdivision thereof or (ii) any that is 

similar to (i) any offense listed in subsection B, (ii) criminal homicide as defined in 

this section, (iii) murder as defined in this section, or (iv) a sexually violent offense as 

defined in this section shall require registration and reregistration in accordance with 

this chapter in a manner consistent with the registration and reregistration 

obligations imposed by the similar offense listed or defined in this section, unless such 

offense requires more stringent registration and reregistration obligations under the 

laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted. In instances where more 

stringent registration and reregistration obligations are required under the laws of 

the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted, the offender shall register and 

reregister as required by this chapter in a manner most similar with the registration 

obligations imposed under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted. 

2. Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors 

registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted shall require registration and reregistration in accordance with this 

chapter in the manner most similar with the registration and reregistration 

obligations imposed under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted unless such offense is similar to (i) any offense listed in subsection B, (ii) 

criminal homicide as defined in this section, (iii) murder as defined in this section, or 

(iv) a sexually violent offense as defined in this section and the registration and 

reregistration obligations imposed by the similar offense listed or defined in this 

section are more stringent than those registration and reregistration obligations 

imposed under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was convicted. In 

instances where the similar offense listed or defined in this section imposes more 

stringent registration and reregistration obligations, the offender shall register and 

reregister as required by this chapter in a manner consistent with the registration and 

reregistration obligations imposed by the similar offense listed or defined in this 

section. 

G. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent shall not be required to register; however, where 

the offender is a juvenile over the age of 13 at the time of the offense who is tried as a 

juvenile and is adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2005, of any offense for 

which registration is required, the court may, in its discretion and upon motion of the 

attorney for the Commonwealth, find that the circumstances of the offense require 

offender registration. In making its determination, the court shall consider all of the 
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following factors that are relevant to the case: (i) the degree to which the delinquent 

act was committed with the use of force, threat, or intimidation, (ii) the age and 

maturity of the complaining witness, (iii) the age and maturity of the offender, (iv) the 

difference in the ages of the complaining witness and the offender, (v) the nature of 

the relationship between the complaining witness and the offender, (vi) the offender's 

prior criminal history, and (vii) any other aggravating or mitigating factors relevant to 

the case. The attorney for the Commonwealth may file such a motion at any time 

during which the offender is within the jurisdiction of the court for the offense that is 

the basis for such motion. Prior to any hearing on such motion, the court shall appoint 

a qualified and competent attorney-at-law to represent the offender unless an attorney 

has been retained and appears on behalf of the offender or counsel has already been 

appointed. 

H. Prior to entering judgment of conviction of an offense for which registration is 

required if the victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally 

incapacitated, when the indictment, warrant, or information does not allege that the 

victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, the 

court shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether the victim of the 

offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, as defined in 

§ 18.2-67.10, and shall also determine the age of the victim at the time of the offense if 

it determines the victim to be a minor. When such a determination is required, the 

court shall advise the defendant of its determination and of the defendant's right to 

make a motion to withdraw a plea of guilty or nolo contendere pursuant to § 19.2-296. 

If the court grants the defendant's motion to withdraw his plea of guilty or of nolo 

contendere, his case shall be heard by another judge, unless the parties agree 

otherwise. Failure to make such determination or so advise the defendant does not 

otherwise invalidate the underlying conviction. 

 

 
Chapter 389 

House Bill 253 
 

Offenses requiring registration under the Sex Offender and Crimes Against 
Minors Registry Act; unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another. Amends  
§ 9.1-902 to add a third or subsequent conviction of unlawful dissemination or sale of 
images of another to the list of offenses requiring registration under the Sex Offender 
and Crimes Against Minors Registry if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 
2020. The bill contains technical amendments. 
 

 

CHAPTER 389 
An Act to amend and reenact § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia, relating to offenses 

requiring registration under the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry 

Act; unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-67.10
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/19.2-296
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902


84  

 

 

[H 253] 

Approved March 23, 2020 

  

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: 

§ 9.1-902. Offenses requiring registration. 

A. For purposes of this chapter: 

"Offense for which registration is required" includes: 

1. Any offense listed in subsection B; 

2. Criminal homicide; 

3. Murder; 

4. A sexually violent offense; 

5. Any offense similar to those listed in subdivisions 1 through 4 under the laws of 

any foreign country or any political subdivision thereof or the United States or any 

political subdivision thereof; and 

6. Any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors 

registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted. 

B. The offenses included under this subsection include any violation of, attempted 

violation of, or conspiracy to violate: 

1. § 18.2-63 unless registration is required pursuant to subdivision E 1; § 18.2-64.1; 

former § 18.2-67.2:1; § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit rape; former § 18.1-88 with the 

intent to commit rape; any felony violation of § 18.2-346; any violation of subdivision 

(4) of § 18.2-355; any violation of subsection C of § 18.2-357.1; subsection B or C of 

§ 18.2-374.1:1; former subsection D of § 18.2-374.1:1 as it was in effect from July 1, 

1994, through June 30, 2007; former clause (iv) of subsection B of § 18.2-374.3 as it 

was in effect on June 30, 2007; subsection B, C, or D of § 18.2-374.3; or a third or 

subsequent conviction of (i) § 18.2-67.4, (ii) § 18.2-67.4:2, (iii) subsection C of § 18.2-

67.5, or (iv) § 18.2-386.1, or, if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2020, 

§ 18.2-386.2. 

If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 
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commit any felony offense listed in this section; subsection A of § 18.2-374.1:1; or a 

felony under § 18.2-67.5:1. 

2. Where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-67.4, 

subsection C of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or a felony violation of former 

§ 18.1-191. 

3. § 18.2-370.6. 

4. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, and where the perpetrator is 

18 years of age or older and the victim is under the age of 13, any violation of § 18.2-

51.2. 

5. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2016, any violation of § 18.2-

356 punishable as a Class 3 felony or any violation of § 18.2-357 punishable as a Class 

3 felony. 

6. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2019, any felony violation of 

§ 18.2-348 or 18.2-349. 

C. "Criminal homicide" means a homicide in conjunction with a violation of, 

attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate clause (i) of § 18.2-371 or § 18.2-371.1, 

when the offenses arise out of the same incident. 

D. "Murder" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or conspiracy to violate 

§ 18.2-31 or § 18.2-32 where the victim is (i) under 15 years of age or (ii) where the 

victim is at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and the murder is related to 

an offense listed in this section or a violation of former § 18.1-21 where the victim is 

(a) under 15 years of age or (b) at least 15 years of age but under 18 years of age and 

the murder is related to an offense listed in this section. 

E. "Sexually violent offense" means a violation of, attempted violation of, or 

conspiracy to violate: 

1. Clause (ii) and (iii) of § 18.2-48, former § 18.1-38 with the intent to defile or, for the 

purpose of concubinage or prostitution, a felony violation of subdivision (2) or (3) of 

former § 18.1-39 that involves assisting or aiding in such an abduction, § 18.2-61, 

former § 18.1-44 when such act is accomplished against the complaining witness's will, 

by force, or through the use of the complaining witness's mental incapacity or 

physical helplessness, or if the victim is under 13 years of age, subsection A of § 18.2-

63 where the perpetrator is more than five years older than the victim, § 18.2-67.1, 

§ 18.2-67.2, § 18.2-67.3, former § 18.1-215 when the complaining witness is under 13 

years of age, § 18.2-67.4 where the perpetrator is 18 years of age or older and the 

victim is under the age of six, subsections A and B of § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-370, 

subdivision (1), (2), or (4) of former § 18.1-213, former § 18.1-214, § 18.2-370.1, or 
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§ 18.2-374.1; 

2. § 18.2-63, § 18.2-64.1, former § 18.2-67.2:1, § 18.2-90 with the intent to commit rape 

or, where the victim is a minor or is physically helpless or mentally incapacitated as 

defined in § 18.2-67.10, subsection A of § 18.2-47, § 18.2-67.4, subsection C of § 18.2-

67.5, clause (i) of § 18.2-48, § 18.2-361, § 18.2-366, or subsection C of § 18.2-374.1:1. An 

offense listed under this subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent offense only if 

the person has been convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such 

offenses, provided that person had been at liberty between such convictions or 

adjudications; 

3. If the offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006, § 18.2-91 with the intent to 

commit any felony offense listed in this section. An offense listed under this 

subdivision shall be deemed a sexually violent offense only if the person has been 

convicted or adjudicated delinquent of any two or more such offenses, provided that 

the person had been at liberty between such convictions or adjudications; or 

4. Chapter 117 (18 U.S.C. § 2421 et seq.) of Title 18 of the United States Code or sex 

trafficking (as described in § 1591 of Title 18, U.S.C.). 

F. "Any offense listed in subsection B," "criminal homicide" as defined in this section, 

"murder" as defined in this section, and "sexually violent offense" as defined in this 

section includes (i) any similar offense under the laws of any foreign country or any 

political subdivision thereof or the United States or any political subdivision thereof 

or (ii) any offense for which registration in a sex offender and crimes against minors 

registry is required under the laws of the jurisdiction where the offender was 

convicted. 

G. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent shall not be required to register; however, where 

the offender is a juvenile over the age of 13 at the time of the offense who is tried as a 

juvenile and is adjudicated delinquent on or after July 1, 2005, of any offense for 

which registration is required, the court may, in its discretion and upon motion of the 

attorney for the Commonwealth, find that the circumstances of the offense require 

offender registration. In making its determination, the court shall consider all of the 

following factors that are relevant to the case: (i) the degree to which the delinquent 

act was committed with the use of force, threat, or intimidation, (ii) the age and 

maturity of the complaining witness, (iii) the age and maturity of the offender, (iv) the 

difference in the ages of the complaining witness and the offender, (v) the nature of 

the relationship between the complaining witness and the offender, (vi) the offender's 

prior criminal history, and (vii) any other aggravating or mitigating factors relevant to 

the case. The attorney for the Commonwealth may file such a motion at any time 

during which the offender is within the jurisdiction of the court for the offense that is 

the basis for such motion. Prior to any hearing on such motion, the court shall appoint 

a qualified and competent attorney-at-law to represent the offender unless an attorney 

has been retained and appears on behalf of the offender or counsel has already been 
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appointed. 

H. Prior to entering judgment of conviction of an offense for which registration is 

required if the victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally 

incapacitated, when the indictment, warrant, or information does not allege that the 

victim of the offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, the 

court shall determine by a preponderance of the evidence whether the victim of the 

offense was a minor, physically helpless, or mentally incapacitated, as defined in 

§ 18.2-67.10, and shall also determine the age of the victim at the time of the offense if 

it determines the victim to be a minor. When such a determination is required, the 

court shall advise the defendant of its determination and of the defendant's right to 

make a motion to withdraw a plea of guilty or nolo contendere pursuant to § 19.2-296. 

If the court grants the defendant's motion to withdraw his plea of guilty or of nolo 

contendere, his case shall be heard by another judge, unless the parties agree 

otherwise. Failure to make such determination or so advise the defendant does not 

otherwise invalidate the underlying conviction. 

2. That the provisions of this act may result in a net increase in periods of 

imprisonment or commitment. Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the 

estimated amount of the necessary appropriation cannot be determined for periods of 

imprisonment in state adult correctional facilities; therefore, Chapter 854 of the Acts 

of Assembly of 2019 requires the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission to assign 

a minimum fiscal impact of $50,000. Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, 

the estimated amount of the necessary appropriation cannot be determined for periods 

of commitment to the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice. 
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